Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

Derry 0-12 1-13 Laois

Round 2
Jerome Henry
Extra Time if Necessary
All-Ireland SFC: Laois edge out Derry
Daniel O'Reilly of Laois in action against Chrissy McKaigue of Derry during the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Round 2 match between Derry and Laois at Derry GAA Centre of Excellence in Owenbeg, Derry. 

All-Ireland SFC: Laois edge out Derry

All-Ireland Qualifier Round 2

LAOIS 1-13 DERRY 0-12

From Paul McIntyre at Owenbeg.

A goal from substitute Eoin Lowry with six minutes to go helped Laois advance to round three of this years football qualifiers at the expense of Derry at a packed Owenbeg on Saturday evening.

It had been a cagey affair throughout with never more than two points separating the sides.

Early points from Ryan Bell and Jack Doherty got Derry off to a good start, but Colm Murphy and Evan O’Carroll had the tie level at 0-2 each after ten minutes of action.

There was never much between the sides throughout the first half and when Shane McGuigan pointed a free on 23 minutes the sides were level again at four points each.

There was a late Laois call up for Trevor Collins and he repaid his manager’s faith to kick Laois in front after 25 minutes. The Oakleafers hit back strongly with three points from Shane McGuigan, Ciaran McFaul and Benny Heron to open up a two point lead but right on the stroke of half time Daniel O'Reilly's point left the minimum between the sides at the break with Derry leading 0-08 to 0-07.

Chrissy McKaigue kicked Derry two points ahead straight from the restart but it was the visitors who made all the running afterwards with two Donal Kingston frees levelling matters again.

Derry then had goalkeeper Thomas Mallon to thank for keeping them in the game as he made two great point blank saves in two minutes to deny Colm Murphy as Laois started to open up the Derry defence.

However there was no denying Eoin Lowry on 64 minutes as Martin Scully’s pass put him in the clear to shoot low past the Derry net minder.

The Laois heads were up now and two further points in the closing stages from Kieran Lillis and that man Lowry saw the O'Moore county go into the hat for Monday mornings draw.

Scorers for Derry: Shane McGuigan 0-5 (3f), Ryan Bell 0-3 (2f), Benny Heron 0-2. Ciaran McFaul 0-1, Chrissy McKaigue 0-1.

Scorers for Laois: Donal Kingston 0-4 (3f), Eoin Lowry 1-1 (1f), Colm Murphy 0-3, Evan O’Carroll 0-2 (1f), Daniel O'Reilly 0-1, Trevor Collins 0-1, Kieran Lillis 0-1

DERRY: Thomas Mallon, Brendan Rogers, Liam McGoldrick, Jason Rocks, Christopher McKaigue, Niall Keenan, Conor McAtamney, Ciarán McFaul, Jack Doherty, Benny Heron, Pádraig Cassidy, Shane McGuigan, Ryan Bell, Enda Lynn. Subs: Eoghan Concannon for Liam McGoldrick (HT), Paddy Coney for Jason Rocks (44), Conor Doherty for Jack Doherty (55), Christopher Bradley for Ryan Bell (56), Sean F. Quinn for Eoghan Concannon (58),

LAOIS: Graham Brody, Stephen Attride, Denis Booth, Gareth Dillon, Trevor Collins, Robert Pigott, Patrick O’Sullivan, John O’Loughlin, Kieran Lillis, Daniel O'Reilly, Conor Boyle, Donal Kingston, Paul Kingston, Colm Murphy, Evan O'Carroll. Subs: Sean Byrne for Denis Booth (HT), Martin Scully for Paul Kingston (49), Eoin Buggie for Patrick O’Sullivan (53), Eoin Lowry for Evan O’Carroll (63)Mark Barry for Donal Kingston (63 Black Card) Sean O'Flynn for Robert Pigott (64 Black Card)

Referee: Jerome Henry (Mayo)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions