Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG


Champion 15 Hurling Team of the Year announced

Jack Regan is one of five Meath players named in the 2023 Champion 15 Hurling Team of the Year. 

Jack Regan is one of five Meath players named in the 2023 Champion 15 Hurling Team of the Year. 

The Meath hurlers lead the way in this year’s Ring, Rackard, Meagher Champion 15 selection, claiming an impressive five spots on this formidable team, with a further five counties also represented.

The Royal contingent in the 2023 Champion 15 is made up of defenders Sean Geraghty, Simon Ennis, and James Toher, who are joined by their clinical forwards Jack Regan and Éamon Óg Ó Donnchadha.

Nicky Rackard Cup victors, Wicklow, take up three places on the team with the full back jersey going to Andrew Kavanagh, while Christy Moorehouse and Andy O’Brien make up a lethal full-forward line.

The Derry hurlers' fine Christy Ring Cup performances have yielded two awards in the shape of defender Riche Mullan and midfielder Cormac O’Doherty.

Nicky Rackard runners-up Donegal are represented by Luke White who takes up the number 1 jersey, and wing back Danny Cullen, after their fine performances in the competition.

Monaghan’s Lory Meagher Cup success is reflected in the shape of attacking duo Niall Garland and Niall Arthur who both claim a spot on this year’s Champion 15 selection. The remaining slot on this stunning team goes to Lancashire forward Conor Madden, who takes up the wing forward position.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “These awards are dedicated to those players who go above and beyond in the pursuit of excellence and are for players who represent the cream of the crop. The Champion 15 selection covers the keenly contested Ring, Rickard and Meagher Cups which makes selection all the more notable and distinguished. Congratulations to all of those who are honoured today.”

Tom Parsons, GPA CEO, said: “Compiling a team across three different competitions is a very tricky job, but nobody can argue that the fifteen players chosen are not worthy of the recognition that they’ve earned by being selected. Their performances were outstanding throughout the Nickey Rackard, Chrisy Ring and Lory Meagher Cups. I want to congratulate them on being nominated for selection by their peers and on being picked by the selection committee.

I also hope that those that put their hearts and souls into hurling in Meath, Wicklow, Derry, Donegal, Monaghan and Lancashire will all bask in the reflected glory of what these players have achieved.

In the past, players from these competitions didn’t get their moment in the spotlight when it came to awards season and I am delighted that this has been rectified by the GAA with the support of the GPA.”

Players from the Ring, Rackard, and Meagher were asked to nominate outstanding performers in their competitions, with an independent selection committee adjudicating on the final team based on player performances, supported by video footage and county nominations.

The awards will be presented at a gala black-tie function in Croke Park this Friday night. The show will be streamed live on gaa.ie from 7pm and will also feature the awards for the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the Year and the Tailteann Cup Team of the Year - as well as the presentation of the overall Players of the Year in these championships. Tomorrow will see the Joe McDonagh Cup Team of the year announced and the Tailteann Cup team of the year will then be announced on Thursday.

Champion 15 Team of the Year 2023

1 Luke White (Donegal - Nickey Rackard)

2 Sean Geraghty (Meath – Christy Ring)

3 Andrew Kavanagh (Wicklow - Nickey Rackard)

4 Simon Ennis (Meath – Christy Ring)

5 Richie Mullan (Derry – Christy Ring)

6 James Toher (Meath - Christy Ring)

7 Danny Cullen (Donegal - Nickey Rackard)

8 Cormac O’Doherty (Derry – Christy Ring)

9 Niall Garland (Monaghan – Lory Meagher)

10 Conor Madden (Lancashire – Lory Meagher)

11 Jack Regan (Meath – Christy Ring)

12 Éamon Óg Ó Donnchadha (Meath – Christy Ring)

13 Christy Moorehouse (Wicklow – Nickey Rackard)

14 Andy O’Brien (Wicklow – Nickey Rackard)

15 Niall Arthur (Monaghan - Lory Meagher)