Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Dicksboro claimed a first Kilkenny SHC title since 1993 at Nowlan Park.

Dicksboro claimed a first Kilkenny SHC title since 1993 at Nowlan Park.

Dynamic Dicksboro deliver in style

Kilkenny SHC Final


Dicksboro uncorked a champagne performance as they ended a 24-year wait to get their hands on the Kilkenny senior hurling title.

The ’Boro got the better of their city rivals James Stephens in a high-octane game which thrilled the crowd at Nowlan Park.

Dicksboro let rip from the off, storming ahead as early as third minute when Bill Sheehan found room to squeeze the sliotar inside the back post from close range.

The score staggered James Stephens, but they fought back. Some good points from Mikey Drennan helped get them up and running, before Luke Scanlon’s 12th minute goal left the sides all square (1-4 to 1-4) as the end of the first quarter neared.

Dicksboro were quick to turn things back their way. Oisin Gough blasted a great goal on 14 minutes - only after a fine save from Derrick Brennan to stop the initial shot.

The score sparked a run that led to points from Shane Stapleton (free), Thomas Kenny, Martin Gaffney and Bill Sheehan as they took the game by the scruff of the neck. They surged even further ahead, Gough netting his second goal on 20 minutes, as Dicksboro moved well clear (3-10 to 1-4).

James Stephens weren’t finished though, and made a late rally before the interval. David Walton flicked the sliotar to the net in the 23rd minute, before Tadhg Dwyer had the green flag flying three minutes later. That late burst helped cut Dicksboro’s lead back to six points by half-time (3-11 to 3-5).

The second half wasn’t as high-scoring, but Dicksboro did enough to keep that gap between the sides. The sides swapped goals in quick succession, Martin Gaffney plundering a fourth for Dicksboro on 42 minutes before Matthew Ruth replied with a similar score at the other end six minutes later, but the ’Boro weren’t about to let their lead slip.

Late points from Bill Sheehan and substitute Paul O’Flynn saw them end that barren run to claim glory again.

Scorers for Dicksboro: Oisin Gough 2-0, Bill Sheehan 1-3, Martin Gaffney 1-1, Shane Stapleton 0-4 (4fs), Ollie Walsh 0-2, Robbie Fitzpatrick, Thomas Kenny, Aidan Nolan, and Paul O’Flynn 0-1 each.

*Scorers for James Stephens: *David Walton 1-5 (5fs), Tadhg Dwyer, Luke Scanlon, Matthew Ruth 1-1 each, Mikey Drennan 0-2.

DICKSBORO: Darragh Holohan; Conor Doheny, Evan Cody, Michael Fagan; Thomas Kenny, Cillian Buckley, Aidan Nolan; Ollie Walsh (capt), Robbie Fitzpatrick; Eoin Gough, Shane Stapleton, Robbie Murphy; Martin Gaffney, Oisin Gough, Bill Sheehan.

Subs: Stephen Farrell for O. Gough (46) Kevin Kenny for Murphy (52), Paul O’Flynn for Gaffney (58) Eddie O'Donoghue for O. Gough (60).

JAMES STEPHENS: Derrick Brennan; Niall Delaney, Donnacha Cody, Tomas Keogh; David Hennessy, Jackie Tyrrell, Shane Donohoe; Conor Browne, Eoin Larkin; Niall Mullins, Matthew Ruth, Mikey Drennan; Tadhg Dwyer, Luke Scanlon, David Walton.

Subs: Jack McGrath for Hennessy (31), Matthew McWey for Drennan (48).

*REFEREE: *Michael O’Sullivan (Ballyhale).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship