Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG

IT Carlow edge out Limerick IT in Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final

Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final


By Daragh Small at IT Carlow

Last year’s beaten finalists IT Carlow advanced to another Fitzgibbon Cup semi-final as Sean Downey scored the decisive goal and they got the better of Limerick IT.

Davy Fitzgerald’s side held a 0-11 to 1-7 lead at half-time after they played with the breeze in the first-half, and dominated proceedings. But they should have led by more and Downey’s crucial goal, in the 28th minute, made a massive difference.

IT Carlow grew in confidence after half-time, they took the lead for the first time in the 51st minute, when Downey scored his point, and they held on to advance.

Limerick IT had a tough draw in Group C and DCU shocked them 3-15 to 2-17 at home in the opening round. Nevertheless Limerick IT recovered and Peter Duggan scored 2-10 in a 17-point rout of Garda College last time.

IT Carlow’s progression to the quarter-finals was much more impressive with wins over reigning champions Mary I, NUI Galway and Trinity.

But the hosts faltered in the opening stages and Duggan began the onslaught for Limerick IT in the fifth minute.

Jack Fagan tied things up but IT Carlow’s short passing game was found out time and again, and Limerick IT began to take a strange-hold.

Duggan had two uncharacteristic misses from a 65 and a free, but he did score three points from play in that first-half.

Diarmaid Byrnes added three more points from the half-back line and Limerick IT looked to be cruising when they led by 0-10 to 0-5 with two minutes remaining in the opening half.

But Mark Russell burst in from the left and his ball caused trouble in the Limerick IT goalmouth before Downey emerged to drill a low shot past Bryan O’Loughlin.

IT Carlow had clawed the deficit back to 0-11 to 1-7 at half-time and even though Darren O’Connell quickly doubled Limerick IT’s advantage, DJ Carey’s side were on top.

IT Carlow scored 0-5 to 0-1 between the 42nd and 51st minutes, and when Downey rounded off the scoring there they led for the first time.

Mark Kavanagh and Russell tagged on two further efforts to put a goal between the sides and there was no way back for the visitors.

Duggan and David Reidy tried in vain but their two points were cancelled out by a huge side-line cut from Cathal Dunbar and another colossal free from Enda Rowland, while Cha Dwyer scored last.

Scorers for IT Carlow: Mark Kavanagh 0-5 (0-4f), Sean Downey 1-1, Cathal Dunbar 0-3 (0-1 sl), Richie Leahy 0-3, Jack Fagan 0-3, Charles Dwyer 0-2, Enda Rowland 0-1 (0-1f), Mark Russell 0-1.

Scorers for Limerick IT: David Reidy 0-4 (0-4f), Peter Duggan 0-4, Diarmaid Byrnes 0-3 (0-2f), Brendan O’Connor 0-2, Darren O’Connell 0-2, Willie Connors 0-1, Oisin Kelly 0-1, Jack Quaid 0-1.

IT CARLOW: Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix, Laois); Shane Reck (Oylegate Glenbrien, Wexford), Kevin Hannafin (St Brendan’s, Kerry), Ross Brown (Colligan, Waterford); Michael Redmond (Rathnure, Wexford), James Doyle (St Mullins, Carlow), Michael Harney (Bunmahon, Waterford); Colin Dunford (Colligan, Waterford), Richard Leahy (Rower Inistioge, Kilkenny); Sean Downey (Ballinakill, Laois), Martin Kavanagh (St Mullins, Carlow), Charles Dwyer (Ballinakill, Laois); Mark Russell (Lattin Cullen, Tipperary), Jack Fagan (De La Salle, Waterford), Cathal Dunbar (Realt na Mara Ballygarrett, Wexford).

*Subs: *Thomas Nolan (Drom / Inch, Tipperary) for Michael Harney (54), Seamus Casey (Oylegate Glenbrien, Wexford) for Sean Downey (62).

*LIMERICK IT: *Bryan O’Loughlin (Kilmaley, Clare); Jack Quaid (Effin, Limerick), Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart, Waterford), James Quigley (Kiladangan, Tipperary); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick), Sean Ryan (Sean Treacy’s, Tipperary), Darren Moran (Kiladangan, Tipperary); David Reidy (Éire Óg, Clare), Brendan O’Connor (Adare, Limerick); Darren O’Connell (Kildimo Pallaskenry, Limerick), Willie Connors (Kiladangan, Tipperary), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen, Limerick); Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona, Clare), Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin, Clare), Oisin Kelly (Belmont, Offaly).

Subs: Mark Kavanagh (Rathdowney Errill, Laois) for Jack Quaid (40), David Conroy (Doora Barefield) for O’Connor (53).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship