Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Kevin McKernan and Kieran McGeary celebrate at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence.

Kevin McKernan and Kieran McGeary celebrate at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence.

St Mary's win dramatic Independent.ie Sigerson Cup Final

Independent.ie Sigerson Cup Final

St Mary’s, Belfast 0-13 UCD 2-6

By Cian O'Connell at the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence

St Mary’s, Belfast claimed Sigerson Cup glory with a stirring win over favourites UCD.

Paddy Tally’s well organised team overcame the concession of two early goals to eke out a memorable victory over the aristocrats of the famous third level competition.

Inspired by Conor Meyler, Oisin O’Neill, Kevin McKernan, and Cathal McShane the Ranch delivered a performance that was as passionate as it was purposeful.

A dramatic opening period laced with splendid scores eventually ended with Mary's leading 0-9 to 2-1 at the break.

That was despite the concession of two goals in the first four minutes - exactly what happened them against UCC at the penultimate stage.

Colm Basquel netted a brace of opportunistic goals for UCD, who started well against the teeth of a strong wind.

But Mary's responded reeling off nine points without reply; Oisin O'Neill landed three from distance, while Conall McCann, Conor Meyler, and Cathal McShane nailing fine efforts.

Paul Mannion ended a 26 minute search for a UCD score, but St Mary's were two ahead at the break.

After the restart the match stayed highly competitive as Mary’s diligent defensive work continued to frustrate UCD, who could only muster five second half points.

St Mary’s managed to register four against the elements with Corey Quinn and Kieran McGeary landing two in the closing stages to edge them 0-13 to 2-4 ahead.

UCD summoned one late rally featuring points from Basquel and Conor McCarthy, but a resolute St Mary’s weren’t going to be denied.

*Scorers for St Mary’s, Belfast: *Oisin O’Neill 0-4 (3fs), Conall McCann 0-2, Cathal McShane 0-2, Kieran McGeary 0-2 (2fs), Conor Meyler 0-1, Corey Quinn 0-1, Ciaran Corrigan 0-1.

*Scorers for UCD: *Colm Basquel 2-1, Conor McCarthy 0-2 (1f), Eamonn Wallace 0-1, Barry McGinn 0-1, Paul Mannion 0-1.

St Mary’s Belfast: Mark Reid (Down); Ruairi Mooney (Derry), Kyle Mallon (Armagh), Aaron McKay (Armagh); Ciaran MacIomhar (Armagh), Conor Meyler (Tyrone), Colm Byrne (Tyrone); Conall McCann (Tyrone), Oisin O’Neill (Armagh); Ciaran Corrigan (Fermanagh), Kieran McGeary (Tyrone), Stephen McConville (Down); Kevin McKernan (Down), Matthew Fitzpatrick (Antrim), Cathal McShane (Tyrone).

Subs: Corey Quinn (Down) for Stephen McConville (45 mins), Jack Hannigan (Antrim) for Kyle Mallon (60 mins).

UCD: Colm Honan (Meath); Eoin Murchan (Dublin), Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin), Robbie McDaid (Dublin); Conor Mullally (Dublin), Stephen Coen (Mayo), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin); Barry O’Sullivan (Kerry), Jack Barry (Kerry); Andy McDonnell (Louth), Conor McCarthy (Monaghan), Eamonn Wallace (Meath); Paul Mannion (Dublin), Colm Basquel (Dublin), Barry McGinn (Monaghan).

Subs: Liam Casey (Tipperary) for Andy McDonnell (31 mins), Tom Hayes (Cavan) for Paul Mannion (56 mins), Larry Moran (Longford) for Barry O’Sullivan (58 mins, bc).

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions