Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
John Heslin celebrating a famous win for St Lomans.

John Heslin celebrating a famous win for St Lomans.

Loman's advance to Leinster decider

AIB Leinster SFC Semi-Final


By Conor McKenna at TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar

St. Loman’s advanced to face Moorefield in the Leinster Final, after a narrow victory over Meath champions Simonstown Gaels.

The Meath outfit had a good start with Padraig McGeever converting a free, which was shortly followed up by Nathan O’Brien’s effort from close range.

Mark McCabe then got the game’s first goal when he finished from close range, with an excellent finish, after a wonderful move involving Nathan O’Brien, Niall Kane and McCabe.

Brian Conlon followed up with a fisted effort, before an excellent point from Padraig McGeever gave Colm O’Rourke’s charges a 1-4 to 0-0 lead after 15 minutes.

St. Loman’s responded superbly though with Ken Casey opening their account and a difficult free from Paul Sharry reduced the deficit to five points.

Shane Dempsey added a close range point and the gap was down to three point when Westmeath star John Heslin got his first score of the day, with a short range free.

Nathan O’Brien replied for Simonstown, with a magnificent point from an acute angle, which was followed up with a great effort from Sean Tobin off his left foot.

John Heslin added two more points before the break, to leave only three points between the sides at half time, with the Meath champions leading on a score line of 1-6 to 0-6.

It was all St. Loman’s after the interval with the Westmeath side completely dominating. Six unanswered points from St. Loman’s, including a monster point from Conadh Reilly, gave them a three point cushion, which was a complete reverse of the opening half.

Points from Shane O’Rourke and Conor Sheridan reduced the deficit to a single point with 54 played and at this stage it really was anybody’s game.

Kieran Lynam’s fisted effort restored his sides advantage and gave Loman’s a two point lead they would never relinquish.

St. Loman’s have overcame six and seven point deficits in their last two games respectively and will relish the upcoming clash with Moorefield

It will be a strange day for St. Loman’s manager Luke Dempsey, as he managed Moorefield for two season in 2013 and 2014 before taking charge of the Westmeath side. Dempsey will be hoping to add a Leinster Club Football Championship to his CV.

Scorers for St. Loman’s Mullingar: John Heslin 0-6 (5fs), Paul Sharry (1f) and Shane Dempsey 0-2 each, Conradh Reilly, Kieran Lynam, and Ken Casey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Simonstown: Mark McCabe 1-0, Padraig McGeever (1f) Nathan O’Brien 0-2 each, Brian Conlon Sean Tobin, Shane O’Rourke, and Conor Sheridan 0-1 each.

St. LOMAN'S: Jason Daly; Neil O’Toole, Jason O’Toole, Gerry Grehan; Gary Glennon, Paddy Dowdall, Ciaran Kilmurray; Paul Sharry, Sean Flanagan; Kelvin Reilly, Ronan O’Toole, David Windsor; Ken Casey, John Heslin, Shane Dempsey.

Subs: Kieran Lynam for Ciaran Kilmurray (28), Conradh Reilly for Sean Flanagan (B/C, 36), Gareth Hickey for David Windsor (51), David Whelan for Neil O’Toole (59), Billy O’Loughlin for Ken Casey (65).

SIMONSTOWN GAELS: Robbie Burlingham; Shane Gallagher, Stephen Moran, Niall McMahon; Brian McGrath, Brian Conlon, Niall Kane; Shane O’Rourke, James Kilcullen; Sean Tobin, Seamus Kenny, Mark McCabe; Nathan O’Brien, Conor Sheridan, Padraig McKeever.

Subs: Mark Gardiner for Niall McMahon (45), Joe Lyons for Seamus Kenny (45), Nicky O’Brien for James Kilcullen (51), Michael Brennan for Conor Sheridan (55), Shane Barry for Sean Tobin (58).

REFEREE: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship