Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

Dublin 2-17 0-11 Tyrone

Páirc an Chrócaigh
David Coldrick
All Ireland SFC S-F: Dublin cruise to emphatic victory
Paul Flynn, Jonny Cooper, and Cian O Sullivan celebrate at Croke Park.

All Ireland SFC S-F: Dublin cruise to emphatic victory

All Ireland SFC Semi-Final


By Cian O'Connell at Croke Park

There was never any sign of a surprise at Croke Park as a dominant Dublin team cruised to an emphatic win.

Jim Gavin’s charges dictated the agenda from start to finish at GAA headquarters with Tyrone unable to deal with Dublin’s depth and drive.

Goals from Con O’Callaghan and substitute Eoghan O’Gara decorated Dublin’s victory, while Paul Flynn made a notable cameo following his introduction by clipping three gorgeous points.

In the closing seconds Diarmuid Connolly also returned to competitive action following suspension which raised a significant Hill 16 cheer.

By then, though, Dublin’s passage into next month’s intriguing decider with Mayo was secured with the minimum of fuss.

Only five minutes had elapsed when Con O’Callaghan gathered Philly McMahon’s inviting delivery before embarking on a dashing run.

The classy Cuala attacker sensed the opportunity bursting through the heart of the Tyrone defence to plant a goal.

It was a crucial early statement from Dublin, who accumulated a 1-4 to 0-2 lead by the 12th minute with Tyrone struggling to stay afloat.

Paddy Andrews mined two fine points during that spell, while Ciaran Kilkenny also contributed a good point for Jim Gavin’s charges, who settled briskly.

Tyrone did register two of the next three points with Peter Harte (free) and Colm Cavanagh splitting the uprights, but Dublin responded once more.

O’Callaghan drilled a couple of points, while Brian Fenton and Dean Rock (free) also registered before Harte terminated an 18th minute search for a Tyrone score.

When referee David Coldrick blasted the half-time whistle Dublin were 1-9 to 0-5 ahead ensuring Tyrone needed to improve dramatically after the restart.

Five Tyrone shots in four minutes when the action recommenced only yielded one point from a Harte free confirming just how hard Dublin were working to restrict the underdogs.

Dublin’s cushion had stretched to 1-13 to 0-7 by the 55th minute with Tyrone dealing in damage limitation.

Peter Harte, Colm Cavanagh, and Niall Sludden kicked points narrowing the gap to six, but Dublin bossed the rest of the match.

Flynn and Kevin McManamon were busy, while another replacement O’Gara palmed the insurance goal in the 68th minute.

In stoppage time a Philly McMahon foul on the brave Colm Cavanagh resulted in a penalty, but Peter Harte’s powerful effort was saved by Stephen Cluxton.

It was that sort of demoralising afternoon for Tyrone, who were soundly beaten by Dublin. The Green and Red of Mayo are next on the agenda for Dublin – that will be a much more strenuous examination.

Scorers for Dublin: Con O’Callaghan 1-2, Dean Rock 0-5 (4fs), Eoghan O’Gara 1-1, Paul Flynn 0-3, Paddy Andrews 0-2, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Ciaran Kilkenny, Paul Mannion 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tyrone: Peter Harte 0-4 (3fs), Niall Sludden and Colm Cavanagh 0-2 each, Declan McClure, Tiernan McCann, and Sean Cavanagh (f) 0-1 each.

*DUBLIN: *Stephen Cluxton; Jonny Cooper, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Fitzsimons; Philly McMahon, John Small, Jack McCaffrey; Brian Fenton, James McCarthy; Ciaran Kilkenny, Con O’Callaghan, Niall Scully; Paul Mannion, Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock.

Subs: Paul Flynn for Niall Scully (45), Kevin McManamon for Paddy Andrews (45), Darren Daly for John Small (52), Eoghan O’Gara for Dean Rock (62), Eric Lowndes for Paul Mannion (65), Diarmuid Connolly for Con O’Callaghan (70).

TYRONE: Niall Morgan; Aidan McCrory, Ronan McNamee, Cathal McCarron; Tiernan McCann, Padraig Hampsey, Peter Harte; Colm Cavanagh, Conall McCann; David Mulgrew, Niall Sludden, Mattie Donnelly; Mark Bradley, Sean Cavanagh, Kieran McGeary.

Subs: Declan McClure for Conall McCann (29), Rory Brennan for Kieran McGeary (HT), Darren McCurry for David Mulgrew (42), Ronan O’Neill for Mark Bradley (50), Conor Meyler for Sean Cavanagh (55), Padraig McNulty for Ronan McNamee (60).

*REFEREE: *David Coldrick (Meath).



Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions