Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Denis Corroon scored 1-4 for Mullingar Shamrocks against St Loman's.
Denis Corroon scored 1-4 for Mullingar Shamrocks against St Loman's.

Shamrocks return to Westmeath summit

Westmeath SFC Final


By Conor McKenna at TEG Cusack Park

Mullingar Shamrocks delivered a vintage display to overcome fierce rivals St. Loman’s lifting the Flanagan Cup for the first time since 2012.

Denis Corroon, Darragh Daly, Donal O’Donoghue and Micheal Curley were some of the Shamrocks players who excelled, in what was an extremely efficient performance.

St. Loman’s played the majority of the game with 14 men and Mullingar Shamrocks took full advantage of the numerical advantage throughout.

Mullingar Shamrocks had a dream start to the game, with two points from lively forward Dean Moore and St. Loman’s were dealt a major blow when corner-back Sean Lancaster was dismissed after an altercation.

John Heslin was absolutely magnificent and at times unplayable keeping his side in the contest for large periods especially in the opening half.

Mullingar Shamrocks had built up a 0-5 to 0-3 advantage before the opening goal came and it duly arrived courtesy of the outstanding Paddy Fagan who received a great ball from Donal O’Donoghue.

Veteran O’Donoghue was man of the match in the 2004 Leinster final and was again exceptional, proving that class is permanent.

St. Loman’s had clawed back the deficit to two points at half time, with the scoreboard reading 1-6 to 0-7 in favour of Shamrocks at the interval.

St. Loman’s claimed a goal shortly after half time, which came courtesy of Ken Casey, after a quickly-taken free from John Heslin set up Ronan O’Toole, with the latter picking out Casey who made no mistake with the finish.

Westmeath county star Denis Corroon delivered for the victors, producing a fantastic performance at midfield, before pushing further forward in the second half and Corroon responded with a goal for his side, after being set up superbly by Darragh Daly.

TJ Cox’s effort reduced the deficit to one point late on, but three late scores in succession courtesy of Denis Corroon, Dean Moore and the ever impressive Micheal Curley.

Scorers for Mullingar Shamrocks: Denis Corroon 1-4 (3f), Dean Moore 0-5 (2fs), Paddy Fagan 1-0, Micheal Curley, Simon Quinn, and Alan Cashman 0-1 each.

Scorers for St. Loman’s: John Heslin 0-9 (7fs), Ken Casey 1-0, TJ Cox and David Windsor 0-1 each.

MULLINGAR SHAMROCKS: Philly Shaw; Eddie Moore, Kieran Gavin, Killian Daly; Paddy Joyce, Micheal Curley, Tye Adamson; Denis Corroon, Paddy Fagan; Simon Quinn, Donal O’Donoghue, Alan Cashman; Jordan Warde, Darragh Daly, Dean Moore.

Subs: Billy Flynn for Adamson (35), Ciaran Curley for Warde (37), Efe Siode for Cashman (49), Aaron Purcell for Joyce (52), Ross Corroon for Flynn (55).

ST LOMAN’S, MULLINGAR: Stephen Gallagher; Sean Lancaster, Sean Flanagan, Gerry Grehen; Gary Glennon , Paddy Dowdall, David Whelan; Kelvin Reilly, John Heslin; Conradh Reilly, Paul Sharry, David Windsor; TJ Cox, Ronan O’Toole, Ken Casey.

Subs: Shane Dempsey for Conradh Reilly HT), Ciaran Kilmurray for David Windsor (43), Fola Ayorinde for Gary Glennon (58).

REFEREE: Niall Ward (Garrycastle).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions