Cathal Cregg, Roscommon, and Eoghan Kerin, Galway, during the Connacht FBD League Final at Tuam Stadium.
Cathal Cregg, Roscommon, and Eoghan Kerin, Galway, during the Connacht FBD League Final at Tuam Stadium.

Roscommon win in the west

Connacht FBD League Final


By Cian O'Connell at Tuam Stadium

While next Saturday evening’s interesting Allianz League tussle against Mayo currently dominates Roscommon’s thoughts this Connacht FBD League triumph will leave Anthony Cunningham’s team heartened entering that battle.

Combining steel with substance Roscommon, prompted by Donie Smith’s splendid eight point contribution, were worthy victors in Tuam.

Galway carved openings during the contest, but they only struck 1-5 from 24 attempts which owed much to Roscommon’s clustered defence and willingness to work.

Roscommon were more clinical converting opportunities during a tetchy opening period which offered significant encouragement for Anthony Cunningham’s outfit.

A pumped up Roscommon outfit mined six scores from nine attempts before the break, while Galway only struck four from 12 ensuring.

That ensured Roscommon went in protecting a 0-6 to 0-4 lead as Galway were left reflecting on several decent chances which were squandered.

There was nothing wrong with Roscommon’s attitude or application as they accumulated a 0-5 to 0-2 advantage by the 25th minute.

Ciaran Lennon was a threat inside clipping a couple of points, while Donie Smith was sharp from frees for Roscommon.

Galway, who showed glimpses of their ability to thunder forward from deep, did nail a couple of fine efforts courtesy of Gary O’Donnell and Shane Walsh, but Roscommon led at the turnaround.

After the restart Donie Smith, prominent for Roscommon, guided Cunningham’s charges three clear, but Galway summoned a response.

Barry McHugh and Gareth Bradshaw combined with the Mountbellew-Moylough attacker drilling an equalising goal.

Suddenly Roscommon were under duress, but they remained calm regaining the initiative impressively as busy substitute Ultan Harney, Colin Compton, and two Donie Smith frees put them 0-11 to 1-4 in front with 15 minutes remaining.

From then until the finish Galway perspired, but Roscommon stayed defiant with Donie Smith decorating the victory with a delightful injury time point.

In the dying embers David Wynne was sent off picking up a black card following an earlier yellow, but by then Roscommon had inflicted sufficient damage.

Scorers for Roscommon: Donie Smith 0-8 (5fs), Ciaran Lennon 0-2, Shane Killoran, Colin Commpton, and Ultan Harney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Barry McHugh 1-1 (1f), Gary O’Donnell and Shane Walsh 0-2 (1f) each.

ROSCOMMON: Darren O’Malley; Evan McGrath, Conor Daly, David Murray; Conor Hussey, Niall Daly, Ronan Daly; Tadhg O’Rourke, Enda Smith; Shane Killoran, Donie Smith, Niall Kilroy; Colin Compton, Ciaran Lennon, Cathal Cregg.

Subs: Gary Patterson for Killoran (17), Ultan Harney for McGrath (35+3), Aonghus Lyons for Kilroy (55), Caoileann Fitzmaurice for Cregg (62), Hubert Darcy for O’Rourke (68).

GALWAY: Ruairi Lavelle; Declan Kyne, Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh, Eoghan Kerin; Sean Kelly, Gareth Bradshaw, Gary O’Donnell; Tom Flynn, Ciaran Duggan; Johnny Heaney, Johnny Duane, Fintan Cooney; Barry McHugh, Michael Daly, Shane Walsh.

Subs: David Wynne for Kyne (26), Cein Darcy for Daly (HT), Peter Cooke for Cooney (50), Padraic Cunningham for Duane (64), Danny Cummins for Flynn (68).

REFEREE: Liam Devenney (Mayo).