Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Seamus Harnedy captained Imokilly to Cork SHC glory in 2017.
Seamus Harnedy captained Imokilly to Cork SHC glory in 2017.

Preview: Weekend's County Hurling Finals action

Saturday October 13

Kildare SHC Final

Ardclough v Celbridge, St Conleth's Park, 3.30pm

Ardclough delivered when it truly mattered at this stage a year ago beating Naas and return to the decider encouraged.

Celbridge were triumphant in 2016 and these two clubs have been highly competitive in recent campaigns.

With six Kildare titles gleaned since 2005 Celbridge are a widely respected outfit, but Ardclough showed their ability against Naas in a tight semi-final.

Celbridge were also resilient defeating Confey so another good battle is anticipated in Newbridge.

Sunday October 14

Carlow SHC Final

Mount Leinster Rangers v St Mullins, Netwatch Cullen Park, 3.45pm

Two of the most feared clubs in Carlow return to the showpiece.

Mount Leinster Rangers registered six titles in eight years between 2006 and 2013, while St Mullins completed a three in a row between 2014 and 2016.

That two of those finals included victories over St Mullins merely adds an extra layer of intrigue.

Mount Leinster Rangers were comprehensive winners over Naomh Eoin at this stage last year and they are in form once more.

Cork SHC Final

Midleton v Imokilly, Pairc Ui Chaoimh, 4pm

Can Imokilly retain the Cork Senior Hurling Championship? How will Midleton, last winners in 2013, fare?

Imokilly produced a splendid second half display to beat a well regarded UCC outfit at the penultimate stage.

Three second half goals were plundered by the divisional side with Seamus Harnedy, Shane Hegarty, and Paudie O'Sullivan rattling the students' net.

Midleton, prompted by the enduring excellence of Conor Lehane, survived a spirited Blackrock rally.

Luke O'Farrell is another key contributor for Midleton, who will be striving to test the holders' resolve at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Mayo dual star Keith Higgins is an important player for Ballyhaunis.
Mayo dual star Keith Higgins is an important player for Ballyhaunis.

London SHC Final

Robert Emmetts v St Gabriels, McGovern Park, 3pm

Robert Emmetts contest a fourth London SHC decider in a row and will be eager to respond following last year's defeat against Kilburn Gaels.

St Gabriels have suffered two final defeats since last winning in 2013 and the current team is powered by Neil Rogers, Brian Hickey, Shane Lawless, and Michael Ivors.

Tadhg Healy and the prolific Benny McCarry are key figures for Emmetts, who eventually defeated Kilburn Gaels at the semi-final stage following an important Cian Lordan goal.

Mayo SHC Final

Ballyhaunis v Tooreen, Ballyhaunis, 3pm

The past two decades have been packed with interesting Mayo SHC Final battles involving these two proud clubs.

Tooreen prevailed 2-10 to 0-6 last year, but that arrived following three Ballyhaunis triumphs on the spin.

Keith Higgins' influential role with Ballyhaunis shouldn't be underestimated and they already beat Tooreen in the group stages in 2018.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions