Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Darren Hughes captained Scotstown to Monaghan SFC glory.
Darren Hughes captained Scotstown to Monaghan SFC glory.

Preview: Weekend's Club Gaelic Football action

Saturday October 20

Mayo SFC Final

Ballintubber v Breaffy, Elverys MacHale Park, 8pm

A game dotted with Mayo players of the past, present, and future is set to attract a healthy crowd under the Saturday night Castlebar lights.

Kevin Johnson steered Ballintubber to a gritty semi-final replay win over Castlebar Mitchels, who had claimed three titles on the spin.

That was a significant success for Ballintubber, who look to the O'Connor brothers, Cillian and Diarmuid, Alan Dillon, and Jason Gibbons for inspiration.

An emerging crop of footballers in the club, though, are beginning to prosper, but Breaffy are a team accompanied by a sense of mission too.

The O'Shea brothers continue to supply plenty of craft and they want to plant the Breaffy flag on the summit of the Mayo club game for the first time.

Peter Ford and Shane Conway have extracted solid displays from Breaffy so far and this promises to be an intriguing clash.

Wexford SFC Final replay

Kilanerin v Shelmaliers, Innovate Wexford Park, 3.45pm

Last weekend's drawn game was a dramatic encounter as Simon Donohue thundered forward to land a late leveller for Shelmaliers.

It was the first time Shels competed in a final, but Kilanerin's recent journey is interesting also.

Intermediate champions in 2017, Kilanerin continue to be driven by the excellent Mattie Forde, who struck 1-6.

Sunday October 21

Ulster SFC First Round

Scotstown (Monaghan) V Derrygonnelly Harps (Fermanagh), Clones, 2.30pm

The next step for Scotstown and Derrygonnelly Harps is to produce on the Ulster canvas.

Derrygonnelly Harps have now won four Fermanagh crowns on the spin and they were competitive outside the county last year.

A win over Armagh Harps edged Derrygonnelly Harps into a provincial semi-final where they lost after a replay against Cavan Gaels.

Scotstown were beaten in the 2015 Ulster decider by Crossmaglen Rangers, but after winning a fifth Monaghan Championship in six years they are eager to make further progress.

Antrim SFC Final

Cargin v Creggan Kickhams, Ahoghill, 3.30pm

Since Creggan Kickhams last appearance in an Antrim SFC final back in 1977, Cargin have featured in 16 deciders winning six.

Tommy McCann and Conor Small struck critical scores for Creggan against St John's.

Eire Og, Cargin overcame St Gall's following a thrilling encounter by 2-17 to 4-10.

Armagh SFC Final

Crossmaglen Rangers v Ballymacnab, Athletic Grounds, 4pm

Crossmaglen Rangers were the team to beat in Armagh for so long, but two years away from the county decider brought pain.

Having watched Maghery and Armagh Harps attain silverware, Crossmaglen are back now eager to earn a 44th crown.

Ballymacnab overpowered Maghery by 1-9 to 0-9 at the semi-final stage with Pauric Gribben's goal the key score.

Gavin McParland will examine the Crossmaglen defence, but the six time All Ireland club champions are anxious to return to the top in Armagh.

Castlerahan contest a fourth Cavan SFC Final in a row this weekend.
Castlerahan contest a fourth Cavan SFC Final in a row this weekend.

Cavan SFC Final

Castlerahan v Crosserlough, Kingspan Breffni, 3.30pm

Can Castlerahan get the job done in Cavan? Losing finalists in 2015, 2016, and 2017 Castlerahan face Crosserlough, who have returned to prominence this year.

Crosserlough's last success was achieved back in 1972, but they beat Gowna 0-11 to 1-6 in a semi-final replay.

A late Pierce Smith score sealed a satisfying win for Crosserlough, but Castlerahan will be formidable opponents.

Donal Keogan's attacking team featuring Oisin O'Connell and Cian Mackey are striving to claim glory.

Derry SFC Final

Lavey v Coleraine, Celtic Park, 3.30pm

Between 2014 and 2017 Slaughtneil chalked up four Derry titles on the spin, but Coleraine ended that run in a quarter-final replay.

Liam McGoldrick, Barry McGoldrick, Niall Holly, and Colm McGoldrick are key figures for Colraine.

Lavey haven't been Derry champions since 1993, but second half goals from Declan Hughes and Eamon McGill sealed a semi-final victory over Glen.

Donegal SFC Final

Gaoth Dobhair v Naomh Conaill, Ballybofey, 4pm

Gaoth Dobhair's deep tradition is always respected in Donegal and they are intent on landing a first Championship since 2006.

A Gaoth Dobhair victory would put them on top of the roll of honour ahead of St Eunan's, but Noamh Conaill remain a competitive outfit.

Last year Noamh Conaill were disappointed to lose a low scoring decider 0-7 to 0-4 against Kilcar, but the Glenties team are a tough outfit/

Since their breakthrough win in 2005 Naomh Conaill have featured in five finals, winning a further two.

Kildare SFC Final

Moorefield v Athy, St Conleth's Park, 3.30pm

Holders Moorefield beat Naas at the penultimate stage to secure a fifth Kildare SFC final appearance in six years.

Daryl Flynn is an influential figure, while Adam Tyrrell and Eanna O'Connor are accurate attackers.

In August Niall Kelly clipped five points as Athy defeated Moorefield in the Kildare Division One League Final.

Moorefield won the 2017 AIB Leinster Club Senior Football Championship.
Moorefield won the 2017 AIB Leinster Club Senior Football Championship.

Limerick SFC Final

Adare v Ballylanders, Newcastlewest, 3pm

Adare were crowned first time champions last year, but they face a tricky assignment against Ballylanders, who won their last title in 2014.

It has been a rapid rise to prominence for Adare, who were Intermediate victors in 2016.

London SFC Final

Fulham Irish v Tir Chonaill Gaels, McGovern Park, 3pm

A year ago Fulham Irish edged out a tight tussle against Tir Chonaill Gaels by 0-15 to 1-11 and it should be similarly close this weekend.

TCG have suffered two London decider defeats in a row, but have been champions nine times since 2000.

Fulham Irish's emergence as a force in the past decade, though, has been reflected by their 2011 and 2017 successes.

Louth SFC Final

Newtown Blues v Naomh Mairtin, Gaelic Grounds, 3.30pm

Ross Nally's efficient finishing ensured Newtown Blues recaptured the Louth title last year.

These two clubs have worked at underage level during the past decade.

This is Naomh Mairtin's first ever final appearance and they have suffered some recent defeats against Newtown Blues including earlier on in the Championship.

Tyrone SFC Final

Coalisland v Killyclogher, Healy Park, 4pm

Killyclogher demonstrated admirable spirit and determination to survive a tense semi-final against Ardboe.

Conall McCann's late goal forced extra-time, while brother Tiarnan is another key performer for Killyclogher.

Peter Herron's goal was the decisive score as Coalisland overcame Edendork by 1-11 to 0-13 to set up a repeat of the 2016 final.

A replay was required on that occasion, but Killyclogher were convincing victors on the second day out.

Coalisland, though, with the Hampseys and Paddy McNiece prominent. offered a reminder of their potential with an assured quarter-final display against a fancied Errigal Ciaran.

Westmeath SFC Final

St Loman's v Mullingar Shamrocks, TEG Cusack Park, 3.30pm

A lively Mullingar derby is imminent at TEG Cusack Park.

St Loman's are gunning for a fourth Westmeath Championship in a row, but Shamrocks have enjoyed a productive campaign.

That is why Ned Moore's charges believe that they claim a first title since 2012.

Loman's, managed by Luke Dempsey, have secured four Championships in five years, but this match against their town rivals will be revealing.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship