Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Gearoid Hegarty, Limerick, and Kevin Moran, Waterford, in 2019 Munster Senior Hurling Championship action at Walsh Park.
Gearoid Hegarty, Limerick, and Kevin Moran, Waterford, in 2019 Munster Senior Hurling Championship action at Walsh Park.

Preview: Allianz Hurling League Division One 

Saturday March 7

Allianz Hurling League Division One Group A

Limerick v Waterford, LIT Gaelic Grounds, 5.30pm

Sunday March 8

Allianz Hurling League Division One Group A

Galway v Tipperary, Pearse Stadium, 2pm

Allianz Hurling League Division One relegation play/off

Westmeath v Carlow, TEG Cusack Park

By Cian O'Connell

Within minutes of Tipperary's hard earned win over Waterford last Sunday, Liam Sheedy's thoughts turned to the impending trip to Salthill.

Undoubtedly a campaign will not be defined at Pearse Stadium, but whoever prevails advances to the knock-out stages of the Allianz Hurling League.

“I don’t think any game on March 8 is a huge game, but look it’s a knock-out game and what I would probably consider a preliminary quarter-final," Sheedy remarked to the assembled media.

That is most certainly the case with both Galway and Tipperary eager to retain an interest in the competition, especially to afford emerging talent further opportunities to shine.

Ultimately it is an approach being adopted by Galway and Tipperary, who have tried to integrate promising players into their respective panels.

All Ireland triumphs at Under 21 and 20 level suggests Tipperary's future is bright, while Galway have also quietly blooded several hurlers, who have triumphed nationally at minor level.

Gradually the marquee names are returning to the fold too ensuring the depth of the Galway and Tipperary squads is increasing.

Galway manager Shane O'Neill has acknowledged the importance of being ready with sufficient numbers for a busy Championship schedule.

It is why Darren Morrissey, Shane Cooney, Fintan Burke, and Evan Niland, amongst others, continued to be afforded minutes on the field.

Dillon Quirke's splendid showing against Waterford augurs well, while Cian Darcy and Craig Morgan also contributed for the Blue and Gold. The next test in the west should be lively considering the team that loses exists the race for League silverware.

Dillon Quirke impressed for Tipperary against Waterford in the Allianz Hurling League last Sunday.
Dillon Quirke impressed for Tipperary against Waterford in the Allianz Hurling League last Sunday.

On Saturday the LIT Gaelic Grounds provides the backdrop for Limerick's tussle with Waterford.

Despite suffering a couple of sending offs in Thurles, Waterford summoned a defiant display.

Liam Cahill was enthused by the grit demonstrated and similar determination will be necessary against Limerick.

John Kiely's formidable outfit have chalked up four wins on the spin with another victory set to secure them a place at the penultimate stage.

Waterford, who have already advanced too, know that taking Limerick's scalp would earn them a place in the semi-finals too.

Stephen O'Keeffe's enduring excellence between the sticks, Jamie Barron's incessant work, and Pauric Mahony's sharp striking remain valuable, while Cahill is content that adequate new performers are being crafted too.

An evening spent in the company of Limerick promises to be beneficial.

Retaining top flight status is the objective for Westmeath and Carlow, who clash at TEG Cusack Park on Sunday.

While the group phase brought demanding defeats and tough moments, Westmeath and Carlow will both feel that they can remain in Division One for the 2021 campaign.

Westmeath and Carlow are also set to meet in Round Five of the Joe McDonagh Cup and the first instalment could go the distance in the midlands.

LIMERICK (v Waterford): Nickie Quaid; Barry Nash, Mike Casey, Aaron Costello; Diarmuid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; Cian Lynch, Kyle Hayes; Gearoid Hegarty, David Reidy, Conor Boylan; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy.

WATERFORD (v Limerick): Shaun O'Brien; Shane Fives, Conor Prunty, Shane McNulty; Calum Lyons, Iarlaith Daly, Tom Barron; Jamie Barron, Conor Gleeson; Neil Montgomery, Pauric Mahony, MJ Sutton; Jack Prendergast, Stephen Bennett, Patrick Curran.

GALWAY (v Tipperary): James Skehill; Darren Morrissey , Gearoid McInerney, Seán Loftus; Pádraic Mannion, Shane Cooney, Fintan Burke; Adrian Tuohey, Aidan Harte; Cathal Mannion, Niall Burke, Jason Flynn; Conor Cooney, Conor Whelan, Brian Concannon.

TIPPERARY (v Galway): Brian Hogan; Paul Maher, Barry Heffernan, Alan Flynn; Seamus Kennedy, Padraic Maher, Ronan Maher; Noel McGrath, Ger Browne; Jason Forde, John McGrath, Dillon Quirke; John O'Dwyer, Seamus Callanan, Cian Darcy.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions