Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Andrew Moore of Monaghan in action against Nick Jackman of Kildare during the Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Quarter-Final.
Andrew Moore of Monaghan in action against Nick Jackman of Kildare during the Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Quarter-Final.

Monaghan outclass Kildare in Minor Football Quarter-Final

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Quarter-Final


By Conor McKenna at TEG Cusack Park

Monaghan advanced to face Kerry in the All-Ireland semi-final after a comprehensive nine-point victory over Kildare at a rain-lashed TEG Cusack Park.

Monaghan were no doubt the better side throughout, but Seamus McEneaney will know that there is a massive scope for improvement in the semi-final, with his side due to face a red-hot Kerry outfit, fresh from victory over Roscommon.

Kildare almost had a dream start to the game inside the opening minute, with Eoghan O’Haire’s effort coming off the post in the opening minute and Liam Broderick blazing wide with the follow up in what could only be described as a gilt-edged opportunity that Kildare would really regret come full time.

Both sides traded points in the early stages, with Kildare opening the scoring early on courtesy of Padraig Behan’s free, after Alex Beirne was fouled.

Kildare completely dominated the opening quarter and will wonder how they were only one point ahead with 15 on the clock, with Monaghan levelling courtesy of Aaron Mulligan’s free and it was all Monaghan from this point onwards.

A fantastic pass from Sean Jones set up Aaron Mulligan who made no mistake with the finish for the game's opening goal to give Monaghan a three-point advantage.

Two points from Loughlinn Power and Sean Jones left the gap at four points heading into the break, but a free from Padraig Behan on the stroke of half-time left the scoreboard reading 1-5 to 0-5 in favour of Monaghan at the interval.

Jones and Mulligan added further scores after the restart, before Seamus McEneaney’s side struck for their second goal, when a pass from goalkeeper Ryan Farrelly found corner-forward Donnacha Swinburne who tapped home from close range.

Padraig Behan responded for Kildare but it looked to be too much of a mountain to climb for Kildare, with heavy rain no doubt affecting players visibility heading into the closing stages.

Sam Reilly’s reduced the deficit to six heading into the last ten minutes, but three points from Donnacha Swinburne, Sean Jones and Karl Gallagher gave Monaghan a fully deserved nine point victory.

Scorers for Monaghan: Aaron Mulligan 1-3 (2f), Sean Jones 0-4 (4f), Donnacha Swinburne 1-1, Loughlinn Power, Shane Hanratty and Karl Gallagher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kildare: Padraig Behan 0-5 (3f), Eoghan O’Haire 0-2 (2f), Sam Reilly 0-1,

MONAGHAN: Ryan Farrelly; Ronan Grimes, Jack Doogan, Shane Hanratty; Christopher Flood, Brendán Og O Dufaigh; Michael Meehan; Jordan McGarrell, Andrew Moore; Aaron Mulligan, Sean Jones, Karl Gallagher; Donnacha Swinburne. Subs: Oisin O’Hanlon for Loughlinn Power (56), Joel Wilson for Jordan McGarrell (58), Jack McGeown for Ronan Grimes (60), Robbie Hanratty for Andrew Moore (62).

KILDARE: John Ball; John Lynch, Conor McGroary, Jack Hamill; Sean Englishby, Kevin Kelleher, Daniel Caulfield; Liam Broderick, Marcus Kiely; Jack Cleary, Alex Beirne, Padraig Behan; Eoghan O’Haire, Aaron Kennedy, Paddy McDermott. Subs: Sam Reilly for Liam Broderick (h-t), Nick Jackman for Sean Englishby (h-t), Muiris Curtin for Marcus Kiely (54), Sean Hill for Daniel Caulfield (56), Drew Costello for Jack Cleary (60), Sam Morrissey for Eoghan O’Haire (62).

Referee: Paul Faloon (Down).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions