Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Wolfe Tones claim the JJ Duignan Cup for the 20th time in their history. 
Wolfe Tones claim the JJ Duignan Cup for the 20th time in their history. 

Longford SHC Final: Wolfe Tones win seventh title in eight years

Longford SHC Final


By Deniese O’Flaherty at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park

Wolfe Tones turned a two point half-time deficit into a 10 point winning margin to claim their seventh Longford Senior Hurling title in eight years with victory over Longford Slashers on a wet and miserable Sunday afternoon at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park.

Despite the weather conditions it was an entertaining contest with Wolfe Tones putting in a terrific second half display to win their 20th hurling title.

For Slashers, the wait goes on. They had been hoping to win a first title since 2001 but it ended up in disappointment as they lost their second final in a row.

Wolfe Tones hit over two early points through John Newman and Maitiu O’Donohoe with Eoin Donnellan replying for Slashers with a pointed free. Slashers were reduced to 14 in the 14th minute when Sean Stakelum was shown a second yellow card.

Wolfe Tones were ahead by three in the 15th minute but another Donnellan free closed the gap to one at the first water break.

In the 19th minute Slashers went ahead for the first time; Gareth Ghee’s shot came off the post and in a goalmouth scramble Paul Leonard kicked the ball to the net. Wolfe Tones then hit two wides while in the 26th minute another Donnellan free put two between the sides going in at the break.

Three points from John Mulhern (two frees) edged Wolfe Tones ahead in the 38th minute. They then created two goal chances before Maitiu O’Donohoe capitalised on a mistake by Johnny Casey to find the back of the net in the 39th minute.

Donnellan hit over a free in the 43rd minute; Slashers’ first point in the 43rd minute. Wolfe Tones got a second goal in the 48th minute; Martin Coyle put in some excellent work to set up Evan Tully and he hit a powerful shot to the net.

Slashers were reduced to 13 players in the 59th minute when substitute Shane Maguire was shown a second yellow. Wolfe Tones sealed an excellent win in the second minute of stoppage time when Daniel Connell found the back of the net with a superb strike.

Scorers for Wolfe Tones: Maitiu O’Donohoe 1-2, John Mulhern 0-5 (3fs, 1’65), Evan Tully 1-0, Daniel Connell 1-0, Martin Coyle 0-1, John Newman 0-1, Daire Duggan 0-1.

Scorers for Longford Slashers: Eoin Donnellan 0-5 (5fs), Paul Leonard 1-0, Daire Regan 0-1

WOLFE TONES: Andy Kelly; Cian McLoughlin, Ciaran Fahy, Joe Gaffney; Adam Quinn, Ethan Dolan, Aidan Sheridan; Luke Kelly, Evan Tully; Martin Coyle, John Mulhern, Dylan Cassidy; Maitiu O’Donohoe, John Newman, Ian Campbell. Subs: Daniel Connell for J Gaffney (28), Daire Duggan for D Cassidy (ht), Patrick Murray for C Fahy (49), James Farrell for J Newman (60), Paddy Cullen for M Coyle (60+2)

LONGFORD SLASHERS: Conor Gallagher; Conor Leonard, Karl Murray, Stephen Farrell; Daire Regan, Johnny Casey, Kealan Cox; William Tunstead, Paul Leonard; Eoin Donnellan, Gareth Ghee, Paddy Hegarty; Reuben Murray, Ciaran Farrell, Sean Stakelum. Subs: Rory Howlin for G Ghee (46), Shane Maguire for D Regan and David Kiernan for S Farrell (50), Eoghan Kavanagh for P Leonard (53)

Referee:James Judge (Mayo)