The Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup draw took place at Croke Park on Wednesday afternoon.
The Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup draw took place at Croke Park on Wednesday afternoon.

Electric Ireland HE GAA Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup draws

Comhairle Ardoideachais and Cumann Lúthchleas Gael are delighted to launch the 2019 Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Championships. This is the second year of a three-year sponsorship commitment between Electric Ireland and the GAA of this sector and we are delighted with their continued support.

Earlier this afternoon in the GAA Museum in Croke Park, the draws for the 2019 Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Championships were made producing some mouth-watering ties to look forward to in the New Year.

Speaking on behalf of Cumann Lúthchleas Gael, Uachtaráin Seán Ó hÓráin said: “We are delighted that the playing and promotion of Gaelic games is such a respected tradition throughout third level education.

“There is so much more than history behind the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups and many other tiers of keenly contested competition. The Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Championships are a proven pathway in the development of talented players and, year after year, these games continue to produce memorable moments and signpost players to watch for future years.”

Speaking at the draws, Edel McCarthy, Group Sponsorship Manager at Electric Ireland, said: We are delighted to support the Electric Ireland Higher Education Leagues and Championships again in 2019 and look forward to another exciting and hugely competitive season ahead. It is easy to see why the Electric Ireland Higher Education trophies are amongst the most coveted in GAA with fierce rivalry at the heart of the competitions and the level of talent on display. This season, through our First Class Rivals campaign, we will highlight the unique trait of these competitions that sees team composition, unlike in club and county Championships, determined by place of learning rather than place of birth resulting in new found rivals amongst former teammates and unexpected alliances amongst club and county rivals.”

Again, this year, all Sigerson fixtures will be played on campuses/local venues as part of the sixth year of a home-and-away agreement between all clubs. Any pairings which occurred over the last five years will now revert to the other club’s venue. With improvements made to many of the GAA facilities in the Higher Education sector this will give clubs the opportunity to showcase their venues and will continue to raise the interest of the local student body in these fixtures.

With fixtures in the Electric Ireland HE GAA Championships scheduled to start on Wednesday January 16th, 2019, full details of dates, times and venues will be circulated later this week.

Fixtures, results and news updates will be available throughout the season on

Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup

Round 1 January 16/20

A. DCU v IT Carlow

B. QUB v Maynooth University

C. IT Tralee v Ulster University

D. UCC v Athlone IT

E. UCD v Cork IT

F. NUIG v St Mary's

G. Garda v IT Sligo


Round 2 January 23/24

I. Loser of A v Loser of E

J. Loser of B v Loser of F

K. Loser of C v Loser of G

L. Loser of D v Loser of H

Round 3 January 30

M. Winner of H v Winner of I

N. Winner of G v Winner of J

O. Winner of F v Winner of K

P. Winner of E v Winner of L

Quarter-Finals February 6

Q. Winner of M v Winner of D

R. Winner of N v Winner of C

S. Winner of O v Winner of B

T. Winner of P v Winner of A

Semi-Finals February 16

Q v R

S v T

Final February 20

Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup


Group B: Limerick IT, IT Carlow, Trinity, Garda

Group C: Waterford IT, DCU, Cork IT

Group D: DIT, Mary I, Maynooth University

Group fixtures on Sunday January 20, Wednesday/Thursday January 23/24, Wednesday/Thursday January 30/31