Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Man of the match Gary Sice scored four points for Corofin against Mountbellew-Moylough.
Man of the match Gary Sice scored four points for Corofin against Mountbellew-Moylough.

Corofin remain the standard bearers in Galway

Galway SFC Final replay


By Cian O'Connell at Pearse Stadium

Corofin, the standard bearers of Galway football, usually find a way and that is precisely what Kevin O’Brien’s team did in Salthill.

This game was more about character than craft, but Corofin were still able to deal with a rugged Mountbellew-Moylough outfit.

Challengers Mountbellew-Moylough, managed by Michael Donnellan, who collected seven county titles in Corofin colours during a decorated playing career, were earnest throughout, but the victors had sufficient patience and guile to claim a sixth Galway crown on the spin.

Forced to field without injured All-Star Ian Burke, Corofin stayed cool under duress to retain the Frank Fox Cup.

The opening period followed the same pattern as the drawn encounter with Mountbellew-Moylough getting bodies behind the ball, eager to force turnovers, but there was one significant difference: Corofin planted an early goal.

Michael Daly kicked a sweet point on the run for the underdogs, but Corofin responded briskly as Dylan Wall rattled the Mountbellew-Moylough net.

Though Daly replied with another fine effort, Corofin reeled off four on the spin courtesy of two Sice frees, Michael Farragher, and Liam Silke.

That edged Corofin five clear which was a sizeable lead considering the low scoring nature of the contest, but Mountbellew-Moylough did clip two points as the interval approached.

Barry McHugh slotted a free and Eoin Finnerty swept over a point, but Corofin’s half-time advantage was 1-4 to 0-4.

After the restart scores were particularly scarce as Sice merely added two to Corofin’s tally, including one gorgeous point from play before Colin Brady and Ronan Steede sealed the deal.

In the dying embers Mountbellew-Moylough’s Noel McDonagh was sent off with colleagues Barry McHugh and Daly, Corofin’s Kieran Fitzgerald subsequently red carded also.

Mountbellew-Moylough, though, were left reflecting on their failure to land a point in the second half until the fifth minute of stoppage time. Corofin remain the team to beat Corribside.

Scorers for Corofin: Gary Sice 0-4 (3fs), Dylan Wall 1-0, Liam Silke, Colin Brady, Ronan Steede, and Michael Farragher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mountbellew-Moylough: Michael Daly 0-2, Eoin Finnerty 0-2, Barry McHugh (f) 0-1.

COROFIN: Bernard Power; Cathal Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Liam Silke; Kieran Molloy, Dylan McHugh, Dylan Wall; Daithi Burke, Ronan Steede; Jason Leonard, Micheal Lundy, Colin Brady; Gary Sice, Michael Farragher, Martin Farragher.

Subs: Conor Cunningham for C Silke (49), Dylan Canney for Martin Farragher (57), Ciaran Brady for Daithi Burke (60+4), Darragh Silke for Leonard (60+4), Barry O’Donovan for Molloy (60+5).

MOUNTBELLEW-MOYLOUGH: Damien Boyle; Mark Mannion, John Daly, Noel McDonagh; Colin Murray, Gary Sweeney, Ger Donahue; Michael Daly, Matthew Barrett; Stephen Boyle, Paul Donnellan, Leo Donnellan; Colm Mannion, Barry McHugh, Eoin Finnerty.

Subs: Colin Ryan for Mannion (47), Andy Barrett for Boyle (54), Billy Mannion for Leo Donnellan (60+4).

REFEREE: Tomas O’Fatharta (An Spideal).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions