Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Gaoth Dobhair are well aware of the threat posed by Scotstown and Monaghan star, Rory Beggan, in the AIB Ulster Club SFC Final. 
Gaoth Dobhair are well aware of the threat posed by Scotstown and Monaghan star, Rory Beggan, in the AIB Ulster Club SFC Final. 

Beggan the hero for Scotstown

AIB Ulster Club SFC semi-final


By Orla Bannon at Healy Park

A converted free by Monaghan's All Star goalkeeper Rory Beggan in the fifth minute of injury-time snatched a dramatic victory for Scotstown in Healy Park.

Eoghan Rua of Coleraine looked primed for most of the second half to pull off a surprise win and book a place in a first ever AIB Ulster club SFC final but conceded four points in a row with Beggan key to it all.

With two minutes of normal time remaining, Beggan stepped up to land his second free of the game before defenders Ryan O'Toole and Damien McArdle scored in injury-time, Beggan playing up around the full-forward position when McArdle pointed.

With the five minutes of injury time almost up, Donal Morgan was fouled around the '45' and Beggan stepped up again for an incredible winner.

Derry champions Coleraine will regret a big goal chance midway through the second half.

Not for the first time, Scotstown were carved wide open through the middle and Gavin McWilliams rounded Beggan only to miss an open goal, his shot crashing off the woodwork.

Ruairi Mooney's goal early in the second half gave them a great platform, after Conor McCarthy and Ciaran Mullan found the net in the first half, but the loss of injured midfielder Niall Holly in the second half was a big blow to Coleraine.

They'll have a long winter to wonder how they let a famous win slip through their fingers.

Scotstown had the better of the opening half but somehow trailed by one, 1-7 to 1-6, at the break.

Coleraine trailed by four points midway through the opening half but had the better of the second quarter and took the lead for the first time in stoppage time.

They were more direct while Coleraine's running game wasn't pretty but it was effective.

Conor McCarthy scored a superb goal for Scotstown in the seventh minute, taking on two defenders, selling a dummy and lifting the ball over the goalkeeper in a deft finish.

Rory Beggan followed it up with a long-range free and the Monaghan champions were 1-2 to 0-1 ahead after 15 minutes.

Coleraine hung in and battled and a goal against the run of play from Ciaran Mullan brought them right back into it.

No-one tackled Mullan as he ran towards goal and with Scotstown slow to react to the danger, he got his shot away and blasted it into the roof of the net.

Darren Hughes' brilliant score with the outside of the boot followed by a Shane Carey free was a good response to the goal by Scotstown, who moved 1-4 to 1-1 ahead.

But from there, Coleraine started to motor and hit three points in a row through Ruairi Mooney, Declan Mullan and Gavin McWilliams. Barry Daly's point in the first-half injury time put Eoghan Rua in front of the first time.

Ruairi Mooney made the most of Liam McGoldrick's great run through the middle and finished the move with a low finish to the far corner.

Declan Mullan's point put them 2-8 to 1-7 in front but after McWilliams' big miss, Kieran Hughes scored almost immediately and the momentum began to turn in Scotstown's favour, setting up a memorable finish in Omagh.

Scorers for Scotstown: Conor McCarthy 1-1, Rory Beggan 0-3 (3f), Kieran Hughes, Damien McArdle 0-2 each, Shane Carey 0-2 (2f), Ryan O'Toole, Francis Maguire, Darren Hughes, Orin Heaphey 0-1 each

Scorers for Eoghan Rua: Ruairi Mooney 1-1, Declan Mullan 0-4, Ciaran Mullan 1-0, Gavin McWilliams 0-2 (1f), Barry Daly, Barry McGoldrick, Colm McGoldrick 0-1 each

SCOTSTOWN: Rory Beggan; Brendan Boylan, Ryan O'Toole, Damian McArdle; Jack McDevitt, Donal Morgan, Emmet Caulfield; Frank Caulfield, Kieran Hughes; Francis Maguire, Conor McCarthy, Jamie McCarey; Shane Carey, Darren Hughes, Orin Heaphey. Subs: Ross McKenna for Heaphey (37), Paul Sherlock for McCarey (48), James Hamill for Caulfield (55), Micheal McCarville for Maguire (60)

EOGHAN RUA: Ryan McGeough; Ciaran Langan, Liam McGoldrick, Barry Daly; Ciaran Mullan, Barry McGoldrick, Ciaran Lenehan; Niall Holly, Mark McTaggart; Ruiari Mooney, Sean Leo McGoldrick, Gavin McWilliams; Declan Mullan, Colm McGoldrick, Ciaran McGoldrick. Subs: Richard Carey for Holly (44)

REFEREE: Ciaran Branagan (Down)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship