Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Davy Glennon, Galway, and Cian O'Callaghan, Dublin, in Allianz Hurling League action at Pearse Stadium.
Davy Glennon, Galway, and Cian O'Callaghan, Dublin, in Allianz Hurling League action at Pearse Stadium.

Allianz HL D1B: Galway cruise to victory

Allianz Hurling Division 1B


By Cian O'Connell at Pearse Stadium

This was a satisfactory spring afternoon in Salthill for Galway, who gleaned a comfortable victory.

Dublin hit the west hopeful to build on a solid start to the competition under Mattie Kenny, but this offered a reminder of Galway’s strength and durability.

Moments of class were also supplied by Galway with Aidan Harte’s diligence and Cathal Mannion’s sweet striking key factors in this particular triumph.

Fielding their most experienced team of the campaign so far Galway settled impressively delivering an assured opening period display in front of 6,893 spectators.

Micheal Donoghue’s charges trotted off 0-13 to 1-4 ahead at the break and plenty of encouragement was available for the healthy home crowd.

From 15 attempts Galway struck 0-13 and didn’t miss a chance until the 34th minute which illustrated how enterprising and efficient the maroon outfit were initially.

Joe Canning was sharp from frees, Davy Glennon and Jason Flynn buzzed about craving involvement in attack, while the promising Sean Bleahene was also prominent.

Trailing by 0-5 to 0-1 Dublin did pounce for an opportunistic goal in the 15th minute when Oisin O’Rorke supplied a splendid assist for Danny Sutcliffe, who batted the sliotar to the back of the Galway net.

Unperturbed Galway reeled off the next five points including some gorgeous efforts from Sean Loftus, Niall Burke, Aidan Harte, and Conor Whelan.

When the interval eventually rolled around Galway went in protecting a six point advantage ensuring significant Dublin improvement was necessary.

Substitute Donal Burke announced his arrival with a tidy point, but Galway kept finding answers as a Glennon effort was followed by two Canning frees.

Though there was little wrong with Dublin’s attitude or application Galway were that little bit slicker meaning the spoils were secured with the minimum of fuss.

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 0-8 (8fs), Cathal Mannion 0-4, Sean Bleahene 0-2, Sean Loftus, Niall Burke, Jason Flynn, Conor Whelan, Davey Glennon, and Aidan Harte 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Danny Sutcliffe 1-0, Riain McBride (1 sideline) and David Treacy (2fs, 165) 0-3 each, Eamonn Dillon 0-2, Donal Burke, Sean Moran (f), and John Hetherton (f) 0-1 each.

GALWAY: Fergal Flannery; Jack Grealish, Ronan Burke, Aidan Harte; Kevin Hussey, Padraic Mannion, Gearoid McInerney; Cathal Mannion, Sean Loftus; Niall Burke, Joe Canning, Conor Whelan; Davy Glennon, Sean Bleahene, Jason Flynn.

Subs: Tom Monaghan for Glennon (55), Paul Killeen for Hussey (67), Kevin Cooney for Flynn (69), Sean Kilduff for Loftus (70+3), Jarlath Mannion for Bleahene (70+3).

DUBLIN: Alan Nolan; Paddy Smyth, Eoghan O’Donnell, Cian O’Callaghan; Chris Crummey, Sean Moran, Shane Barrett; Darragh O’Connell, Riain McBride; Jake Malone, John Hetherton, Fergal Whitely; Oisin O’Rorke, Eamonn Dillon, Eamonn Dillon, Danny Sutcliffe.

Subs: David Treacy for Whitely (21), Liam Rushe for Hetherton (26), Donal Burke for O’Connell (HT), Daire Gray for O’Callaghan (38), Sean Treacy for O’Rorke (48).

REFEREE: James Owens (Wexford).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions