Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG
Westmeath senior football manager Jack Cooney.
Westmeath senior football manager Jack Cooney.

Allianz FL D2: Westmeath defeat Fermanagh

Allianz Football League Division Two


By Conor McKenna at TEG Cusack Park

Westmeath overcame Fermanagh to pick up their second victory of the League.

Westmeath were reduced to 14 men in the 47th minute, after Luke Loughlin was shown a second yellow card following a foul on Eoin Donnelly, though Jack Cooney’s side held out for a two point win.

This was not a game for the purists, in what were poor conditions for football in Mullingar, though that will matter little to the victors.

Westmeath started the game strong, registering the first five points of the match, as John Heslin (2), Ronan O’Toole, David Lynch and Callum McCormack found the target, before a Conall Jones score opened Fermanagh’s account.

Westmeath responded with points from Heslin and Ray Connellan, as the Lake County went into the interval with a 0-7 to 0-1 lead, having played with the wind advantage in the first half.

Heslin’s free opened the second half scoring, though Fermanagh responded with three points in a row to bring themselves right back in contention.

A point from Connellan settled Westmeath, before Loughlin was shown his second yellow card and points from Ryan Jones (2) and Aidan Breen followed to leave just two between the teams.

Heslin’s fifth point stretched Westmeath’s lead to three, though Fermanagh wasted numerous chances late on and Conall Jones’s late free was little more than consolation, as Westmeath held out for a two-point win.

Fermanagh host Cavan on Saturday week, while Westmeath will welcome Armagh to Cusack Park in two weeks time.

Scorers for Westmeath: John Heslin 0-5 (5fs), Ronan O’Toole 0-1, David Lynch 0-1, Callum McCormack 0-1, Ray Connellan 0-2.

Scorers for Fermanagh: Ryan Jones 0-2, Aidan Breen 0-2, Conall Jones 0-2 (2fs), Shane McGullion 0-1, Stephen McGullion 0-1.

WESTMEATH: Jason Daly; Jack Smith, Ronan Wallace, Boidu Sayeh; Paddy Holloway, Kevin Maguire, James Dolan; Denis Corroon, Ray Connellan; Killian Daly, Ronan O’Toole, David Lynch; Callum McCormack, John Heslin, Luke Loughlin.

Subs: Sam Duncan for Callum McCormack (53), Anthony McGivney for Paddy Holloway (68), Tommy McDaniel for Ronan O’Toole (70 + 2).

FERMANAGH: James McGrath; Jonny Cassidy, Eoin Shiels, Kevin McDonnell; Declan McCusker, Daragh McGurn, Shane McGullion; Eoin Donnelly, Ryan Jones; Aidan Breen, Ultan Kelm. Ciaran Corrigan; Stephen McGullion, Conall Jones, Lorcan McStravick.

Subs: Daniel Teague for Lorcan McStravick (23), Mark McCauley for Sheils (57), Eoin McManus for Kevin McDonnell (61), Niall Cosgrove for Daragh McGurn (68).

REFEREE: Noel Mooney (Cavan).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship

Live Competitions