Green Clubs Phase 1

Chairman of CCMA Michael Walsh, Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael John Horan, Chariman of Local Autority Climate Change Steering Group Ciarán Hayes
Chairman of CCMA Michael Walsh, Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael John Horan, Chariman of Local Autority Climate Change Steering Group Ciarán Hayes

Phase 1

Following on from the completion of a questionnaire last March 45 clubs across the four provinces have been selected to participate in Phase 1 of the GAA’s new Green Club programme .

The Green Club programme is being initiated as part of the GAA’s work as an Irish champion of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (the Association was selected by the Department of Communication, Climate Action, and Environment in September 2019). The Green Clubs programme involves a partnership between the GAA, LGFA and Camogie Associations and local authorities across Ireland, with additional support from expert agencies that reflect the five thematic focus areas of the programme, namely:

  • Energy
  • Waste
  • Biodiversity
  • Water
  • Travel & Transport

Phase 1, which is modelled on and run in collaboration with the GAA’s Healthy Club Project, will run for 12 months from November 2020. The objectives of Phase 1 include:

  • Develop a Green Club Toolkit to be shared, further tested, and refined as the programme expands beyond the pilot scope
  • Assist the clubs to develop a Green Club plan that reflects their needs, social and geographical environment (including facilities), and capacities
  • Generate case studies of the above experiences/journeys to inspire and guide the involvement of other clubs
  • Create links and partnerships with local agencies that have the resources and expertise to assist clubs in becoming champions for sustainability in their community
  • Maximise ‘Green’ funding opportunities through increased awareness of funding avenues while supporting the application process
  • Make available all resources, case studies, and learning developed throughout the pilot programme to all Gaelic Games units through a dedicated Green Clubs portal on

Phase One Green Clubs and regional venues


  • Culloville Blues, Armagh
  • Lámh Dhearg, Antrim
  • St. Mary’s Rasharkin, Antrim
  • Crossmaglen Rangers, Armagh
  • St Joseph's Craigbane, Derry
  • Four Masters, Donegal
  • Naomh Muire Íochtar na Rosann, Donegal
  • Buncrana, Donegal
  • Belcoo O’Rahilly’s, Fermanagh
  • Strabane Sigersons, Tyrone


  • St Patrick’s, Limerick
  • Kilmeen & Kilbree Cork
  • Clonakilty, Cork
  • Tralee Parnells, Kerry
  • Cappoquin Affane, Waterford


  • Clan na Gael, Louth
  • Mullingar Shamrocks, Westmeath
  • Ballycumber, Offaly
  • Kildavin Clonegal, Carlow
  • Na Fianna, Dublin
  • Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin
  • St. Finian’s, Dublin
  • Lucan Sarsfields, Dublin
  • St. Brigid’s, Dublin
  • Cappagh, Kildare
  • James Stephens, Kilkenny
  • Park/Ratheniska, Laois
  • MW Hire O’Moore Park. Portlaoise (regional venue)


  • Ballina Stephanites, Mayo
  • Shannon Gaels, Roscommon
  • Clarinbridge, Galway
  • St Colman's Camogie Club, Galway
  • * Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence, Bekan (regional venue)

Tipperary energy hub

  • Rockvale Rovers, Tipperary
  • Boherlahan Dualla, Tipperary
  • Carrick Swan, Tipperary
  • Drom & Inch, Tipperary
  • Toomevara, Tipperary
  • Killenaule, Tipperary
  • Golden Kilfeacle, Tipperary
  • Moyne Templetuohy, Tipperary
  • Ballina, Tipperary
  • Newcastle, Tipperary
  • Burgess, Tipperary
  • Loughmore Castleiney, Tipperary
  • Carrick Davins, Tipperary
  • Holycross Ballycahill, Tipperary

(Due to existing work involving local clubs and an exceptionally large response rate from the county it was decided by the Green Club Working Group to establish a county-based energy hub in Tipperary.)