Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which province will produce the 2016 AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Champions?

Daily News

Molumphy to miss 2013 campaign

Friday, January 04, 2013

Waterford’s Stephen Molumphy will miss the entire 2013 season due to work commitments, Déise manager Michael Ryan confirmed today.

Ryan released a provisional training panel for the new season last night, and former captain Molumphy’s name was a glaring omission from the 35-man list.

The loss of the Ballyduff Upper clubman is a major blow to Ryan’s plans for the coming season. Molumphy, who is a Lieutenant in the Irish Army, was one of Waterford’s top performers last season, along with Kevin Moran and John Mullane.

The Waterford boss confirmed the news in an interview with local radio station Beat 102-103 this afternoon.

Should veteran duo Mullane and the remarkably durable Tony Browne decide to commit to the cause – both have been included in the provisional training panel despite question marks remaining over their availability – it would go some way to offsetting the loss of one of the county’s star players.

Tony Browne, 39, made his Munster GAA Championship debut for Waterford back in 1992, and by committing to another year with the Déise would be facing into a 22nd consecutive championship campaign.

Both Shane and Brian O’Sullivan are also included in the squad having spent last summer in the USA.

Waterford Provisional Training Panel: Stephen O'Keeffe, Ian O'Regan, Seanie Barry, Martin O'Neill, Maurice Shanahan, Paudie Prendergast, Ray Barry, Jamie Nagle, Gavin Crotty, Shane Kearney, Mark Wyse, Noel Connors, Killian Fitzgerald, Eddie Barrett, Dean Twomey, Stephen Daniels, Kevin Moran, John Mullane, Jake Dillon, Eoin Madigan, Tony Browne, Barry Coughlan, Brian O'Sullivan, Shane O'Sullivan, Pauric Mahony, Richie Foley, Seamus Prendergast, Liam Lawlor, Shane Walsh, Jamie Barron, Darragh Fives, Michael Walsh, Gavin O'Brien, Donie Breathnach, Brian O'Halloran.

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow