Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which province will produce the 2016 AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Champions?

Daily News

Ard Chomhairle support CCCC Hurling Championship proposal

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Croke Park

The GAA’s Ard Chomhairle voted by a large majority to support CCCC’s Hurling Championship proposals at Croke Park today and this model will now proceed to Congress where it will be debated and voted upon.

Below is a synopsis of the model.

The GAA’s national officer training day took place in Croke Park today at which county chairmen, secretaries, treasurers and PROs attended a number of specially tailored workshops.

Guest speakers on the day included Judith Gillespie, Deputy Chief Constable of the PSNI, Pádraig McManus chairman of Eircom and former ESB CEO, Fergal Quinn and Pat Gilroy.

For Congress 2013 - Liam Mac Carthy Cup 2014 - 15 Teams

Munster Championship – as is currently; 5 counties
Cork, Tipperary, Limerick, Waterford, Clare
One quarter final, two semi-finals, Munster Final

Leinster Championship – 10 Counties
Laois, Antrim, Carlow, Westmeath, London in a “qualifying” group

  • Played on a round robin basis
  • Each team plays four games
  • Top two teams qualify for Leinster Quarter Finals
  • 4th placed team plays Christy Ring Winners in promotion/relegation play-off
  • Bottom placed team automatically relegated to Christy Ring Cup

Leinster Quarter Finals (x3) – 4 from Kilkenny, Galway, Offaly, Wexford,
Dublin, + 2 from qualifying group

2 x semi-finals (Leinster Champions Bye to semi-final)

Leinster Final

Qualifiers and All Ireland Series

Rd 1: 5 Leinster, 3 Munster Teams (that don’t qualify for Provincial final) - 4 Fixtures
(Seeded draw: Bowl 1 – 3 x Leinster + 1 x Leinster Qualifier (or team beaten
by them in Leinster Quarter or Semi Final)
Bowl 2 – 3 x Munster + 1 Leinster Qualifier or team beaten by them in Leinster Quarter or

Rd 2: 4 winners from Round 1 – 2 fixtures

Quarter Finals: Beaten Prov finalists v Rd 2 Winners (as currently)

Semi-Finals: as currently.

All Ireland Final

Promotion/Relegation Play-off – Ring Cup Winners v 4th place Leinster
“Group” team

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow