Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which of these forwards are you most looking forward to see playing for Ireland in the EirGrid International Rules Series on November 21?

Daily News

McCaffrey takes over from Hiney as Dublin captain

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

John McCaffrey has been named as the new Dublin Senior Hurling captain, can confirm.

McCaffrey takes over the captaincy for the rest of the campaign after regular skipper Stephen Hiney was ruled out for the year through injury.

Manager Anthony Daly has turned to the Lucan Sarsfields clubman after Hiney’s season was cruelly ended when he sustained cruciate knee damage in the Round 4 Allianz Hurling League win over Wexford.

McCaffrey captained the Dublin Minors to the Leinster GAA Hurling Championship title in 2005 and later had a spell as skipper of the county’s U21 side.

In 2007, he led the U21s to a Leinster title, but was thwarted in his bid to captain the first-ever Dublin team to win an U21 All-Ireland, losing to Galway in the final.

McCaffrey will lead out the Dubs for the first time on Sunday, when Anthony Daly’s charges put their unbeaten run in the Allianz Hurling League on the line against reigning champions Galway.

Tomás Brady, the Na Fianna Clubman, has been promoted to vice-captain. 

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow