Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
  • Sun 21 Sep 2014
  • 3:30pmGAA Football All
    Ireland Senior Championship 2014
    Kerry vs. Donegal Páirc an Chrócaigh
  • Sat 27 Sep 2014
  • 5:00pmGAA Hurling All
    Ireland Senior Championship 2014
    Kilkenny vs. Tipperary Páirc an Chrócaigh
View all Fixtures & Results >

What will the outcome be in Sunday's GAA Football All-Ireland Championship Final?

Daily News

Dublin hang on to beat Offaly

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Allianz Hurling League Division IB: Dublin 1-20 Offaly 2-16

Dublin just about held on in the face of a late comeback to record a narrow one-point win over Offaly in the sides’ Allianz Hurling League opener at Parnell Park on Saturday night.

Shane Dooley hit a brilliant 2-9 for the Faithful County, but Anthony Daly’s side had done enough in the first half to earn two crucial league points.

Dublin were seven points clear at one stage in the second half, having led by 0-11 to 0-6 at the break, but Dooley hit two goals in the final quarter that had the Dubs living on their nerves at the end.

Paul Ryan hit 0-6 of Dublin’s total in the first half, but it wasn’t until after the break that the game really sprung to life.

Conor McCormack and Conal Keaney hit the target for the Dubs after the restart while Dooley responded for Ollie Baker’s side.

Dooley then raised a green flag in the 55th minute only to see Danny Sutcliffe respond in kind for the Dubs three minutes later, leaving his side 1-18 to 1-12 ahead.

Once again, though, Dooley stepped up to the mark and drilled a 21-yard free to the back of the net on 61 minutes.

A Keaney point with four minutes left looked to have given the Dubs some breathing space, but Dooley landed a free and a sideline in the closing stages to leave just a single point in it at the end.

Dublin scorers: Ryan 0-7, Keaney 0-5, Sutcliffe 1-2, McCormack 0-3, Boland, Byrne, McCaffrey 0-1 each.

Offaly scorers: Dooley 2-9, Bergin 0-2, Parlon 0-2, Hanniffy, Carroll, Mulrooney 0-1 each.

Dublin: G Maguire; P Kelly, P Schutte, R Trainor; M Carton, L Rushe, S Durkin; J Boland, K Byrne; C Keaney, J McCaffrey (capt.), D Sutcliffe; P Ryan, C McCormack, M Schutte. Subs: D Treacy for M Schutte (55), N Corcoran for P Schutte inj (58), D O’Callaghan for D Sutcliffe (66), S Lambert for K Byrne (69).

Offaly: J Dempsey; D Morkan, C McDonald, D King; D Mooney, K Brady, S Gardiner; R Hanniffy, S Ryan; B Carroll, J Bergin (capt.), C Parlon; J Mulrooney, S Dooley, O Kealey. Subs: C Egan for O Kealey (33), T Carroll for S Ryan (51), D Molloy for B Carroll (66).

Referee: James McGrath, Westmeath.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • eircom, SuperValu, Ulster Bank

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow