Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
  • Sun 21 Sep 2014
  • 3:30pmGAA Football All
    Ireland Senior Championship 2014
    Kerry vs. Donegal Páirc an Chrócaigh
View all Fixtures & Results >

What will the outcome be in Sunday's GAA Football All-Ireland Championship Final?

Daily News

Connacht Minor: Mayo take the spoils

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Electric Ireland Connacht Minor Football Championship Final: Mayo 3-7 Roscommon 1-10

Mayo ended Roscommon's bid for a third Connacht minor title in succession with a three-point victory over Fergal O'Donnell's side in the final in Castlebar on Sunday.

Mayo had two goals on the board within just five minutes of the start of the game, Darragh Doherty and Liam Irwin finding the net to give Enda Gilvarry's side a dream start.

Roscommon responded fairly well to that set-back though, and went in 2-4 to 0-5 behind at half-time after Diarmuid Murtagh and Diarmuid McGann had found their range for the Rossies in attack.

A third Mayo goal from Conor Loftus early in the second half appeared to end any Roscommon chances though, as it put Mayo 3-5 to 0-6 ahead.

However, Roscommon made a brave fightback for the remainder of the game, and outscored Mayo by 1-4 to 0-2 for the closing 25 minutes.

Murtagh's penalty five minutes from the end put two points between the sides and a tense finish was in prospect. But Irwin settled Mayo nerves with a late free, and they held on to take the title.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • eircom, SuperValu, Ulster Bank

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow