Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which province will produce the 2016 AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Champions?

Daily News

CIT and LIT advance to Fitzgibbon semi-finals

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

The two remaining Irish Daily Mail Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final took place in Wednesday, with CIT and LIT advancing to join WIT and UCC in the semi-finals at the end of the month.

WIT and UCC secured their places at finals weekend at Queen's, Belfast on February 28 and March 1 with wins over DIT and UCD respectively.  

Irish Daily Mail HE GAA Fitzgibbon Cup Quarter-Finals

University of Limerick 1-13 Limerick Institute of Technology 2-16

Davy Fitzgerald's LIT caused a major upset to make it to the last four of the Fitzgibbon Cup with a six-point defeat of UL at the University of Limerick campus this afternoon.

With Clare's Tony Kelly in superb scoring form (1-10, including 1-4 from play), LIT were deserving winners and will now face WIT in the semi-finals.

Speaking after the game, LIT boss Fitzgerald declared, "that was as big as anything I've done". 

There were mind games aplenty at UL, where there was an unmistakable Clare influence both on the sidelines and on the field of play. LIT manager Fitzgerald tried to outsmart his former Clare team-mate and UL manager Brian Lohan when his players arrived at the venue togged out before landing on the field through a thicket of bushes. Then both sides ended up warming up on the same end of the pitch.

When the game did start, it was LIT who seemed more tuned in, with Tony Kelly firing over three points as his side moved 0-6 to 0-2 clear after 10 minutes. At half-time, Fitzgerald’s side were still four clear, 0-10 to 0-6, and there was a major shock on the cards.

Within seconds of the restart, UL grabbed a crucial goal, with Tipperary’s Jason Forde doing the damage. Minutes later they were level.

However, with Hurler of the Year Kelly bringing his tally to ten for the day, LIT recovered well and a Kelly goal, which dropped into the top corner, in the 51st minute gave them a 1-15 to 1-9 lead.

LIT had Seán O’Brien sent off in the closing stages, but it mattered little as they added a second goal, a superb effort from Philip Ivors, to seal the win.

LIT will now play WIT in the semi-final at Queen's University, Belfast on Friday week.

Scorers for LIT: T Kelly 1-10 (5f, 1 ‘65), P Ivors 1-3, M Gennery 0-2, Paul Flaherty 0-1.

Scorers for UL: J Forde 1-6 (5f 1sl), T Heffernan, P Walsh 0-2 each, P Collins, Cathal Malone, Thomas O’Brien (free) 0-1 each.

UL: S Hassett, P Flanagan, J Sheehan, J Browne; T Ryan, C Morrissey, C Ryan; B Maher, P Walsh; C Malone, P Collins, B Stapleton; J Forde, J Glynn, T Heffernan.

LIT: A Murphy; S O’Gorman, M Minehan, C Nolan; P Flaherty, B O’Connell, E Boyce; S O’Brien, T Kelly; M Gennerry, P Begley, P Ivors; O Hickey, C McInerney, S McGrath.


Cork Institute of Technology 2-22 NUI Galway 0-11

CIT cruised into the semi-finals of the 2014 Fitzgibbon Cup with a 17-point defeat of NUIG at the CIT Complex in Bishopstown on Wednesday afternoon.

CIT made a superb start and were 1-5 to 0-1 up within 10 minutes, Cork’s Bill Cooper netting their goal after just six minutes.

Ahead by 1-10 to 0-7 at the break, CIT hit seven points without reply at the start of the second half to take complete control, with Tipperary’s John O’Dwyer adding two more to the five he notched in the first half and Daniel Dooley (2), John Cronin and Michael O’Sullivan (2) also on target.

It was midway through the second half before NUIG managed a score, but by that stage CIT had already galloped into an unassailable 1-17 to 0-8 lead.

The game was over as a contest when David Drake (pictured above) hit the back of the NUIG net in the 49th minute, putting the Leesiders 2-18 to 0-8 up.

CIT will now play UCC in a mouth-watering all-Cork semi-final at the DUB in Queen’s on February 28.

Scorers for CIT: J O’Dwyer 0-7 (0-2f, 0-1 65), D Dooley, J Cronin, M O’Sullivan 0-4 each, D Drake, B Cooper 1-0 each, E Keane, C Hammersley, K Hallissey 0-1 each.

Scorers for NUIG: N O’Brien 0-5 (0-3f, 0-1 65), R Greville, G O’Donoghue 0-2 each, JP O’Connell, E O’Farrell 0-1 each.

CIT: S Nyhan, S Murphy, A Dennehy, T Lawrence; E Keane, M Ellis, P Butler; D Corbett, M O’Sullivan; B Cooper, J Cronin, C Hammersley; J O’Dwyer, D Dooley, D Drake. Subs: K Hallissey for Dooley (45), W Murphy for O’Sullivan, M Russell for Ellis, M O’Brien for O’Dwyer (all 51).

NUIG: K Flynn; D Magner, J Hansbury, C Diviney; G Forde, D Higgins, E Teagle; JP O’Connell, N O’Brien; R Greville, B Lane, K Downes; G O’Donoghue, B Phelan, D Reidy. Subs: M Mullins for Lane (36), G Joyce for Magner (40), E O’Farrell for O’Brien (43, injured), E Fahy for Diviney (46), S Cooney for O’Donoghue (53). 


Video by Jerome Quinn

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow