Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which province will produce the 2016 AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Champions?

Daily News

St Thomas through to hurling decider

Saturday, February 16, 2013

St Thomas’ (Galway) 0-15 Loughgiel Shamrocks (Antrim) 0-7

St Thomas' are through to the All-Ireland final on St. Patrick's Day, where they will meet Offaly's Kilcormac-Killoughey, after a clinical defeat of Loughgiel Shamrocks in their replay at Clones today.

The sides were level at 0-6 apiece at the start of the second half, but the Galway champions hit eight points in a row to seal a big win. Bernard Burke and Conor Cooney came to the fore for the Galway champions in that period.

Loughgiel’s only score from play in the entire game came just before half-time from Eddie McCloskey, with Liam Watson, the man who secured a replay for his side with a dramatic late goal last week, grabbing the rest of their scores from placed balls.

Cooney scored six points for St Thomas’, Bernard Burke hit four from play while James Regan was impressive at midfield in the first half, which the Galway side shaded to lead 0-6 to 0-5 at the break.

However, Loughgiel’s only scores in the entire second half came from two Watson frees. Watson levelled matters briefly after the break, but St Thomas’ stormed ahead with a remarkable purple patch that yielded eight unanswered points.

Cooney hit four points, Bernard Burke three and Richie Murray was also on target as the Galway side raced into a 0-14 to 0-6 lead.

A Watson placed ball stopped the rot for Loughgiel, but Cooney then sent over a free, his sixth score of the game, to seal a deserved win and a place in the All-Ireland final on St. Patrick's Day.

St Thomas' Scorers: C Cooney 0-6 (0-3fs, 0-1 ‘65), B Burke (0-4), K Burke (0-1), J Regan (0-1), E Burke (0-1), R Murray (0-1), D Burke (0-1).

Loughiel Shamrocks Scorers: L Watson 0-6 (0-6f), E McCloskey 0-1.

St Thomas': P Skehill; C Burke, S Skehill, S Burke; E Tannion, D Burke, Robert Murray; J Regan , D Burke; S Cooney, C Cooney, B Burke (0-4); K Burke, Richie Murray, A Kelly. Subs: E Burke for Tannion (23), G Murray for K Burke (44), D Sherry for Kelly (54).

Loughgiel Shamrocks: D Quinn; P Gillan, N McGarry, M McFadden; J Campbell, M Scullion, J Campbell; B McAuley, T McCloskey; J Scullion, D Laverty (S Dobbin, 46 mins), E McCloskey; B McCarry, L Watson, S Casey. Subs: O McFadden for McAuley (41), S Dobbin for Laverty (46).

Referee: James Owens (Wexford).

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow