Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which province will produce the 2016 AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Champions?

Daily News

County Football Finals Round-Up

Monday, October 15, 2012

It was a big day on the club football scene with no fewer than eight county finals decided around the country. Catch up on all the news and match reports here.  


Crossmaglen 3-9 Pearse Óg 0-11

Crossmaglen Rangers picked up their 16th Armagh title in 17 years, and their 40th overall with victory over Pearse Óg on Sunday.

The outstanding Jamie Clarke was central to their triumph, bagging goals in either half and finishing with 2-2 overall. Crossmaglen led 2-3 to 0-7 at the end of the first half, with their other goal in the opening period coming from Tony Kernan.

Cross were always able to stay a couple of points in front in the second half, and when Clarke nipped in for his second goal in the 53rd minute, there was no way back for Pearse Óg.


Éire ÓG 0-15 Palatine 0-5

Carlow kingpins Éire Óg picked up their third title in six years with a very comfortable ten-point win over Palatine.

They led from the second minute and never looked back, cruising into a 0-7 to 0-4 half-time lead. They continued to add scores in the second half, and Brian Carbery in particularly lively form, were able to move well clear of Palatine, who only managed one point in the second half.

Both sides were reduced to 14 men for the final 15 minutes, when Alan O'Brien and John Reid were sent off.


Tuam Stars 0-7 Salthill-Knocknacarra 0-12

Salthill-Knocknacarra won their third Galway title after producing an impressive final ten minutes against Tuam Stars in the county final on Sunday.

A tight game played in poor conditions had seen the sides level six times. They went in 0-5 apiece at half-time, and it was 0-7 apiece with ten minutes to go.

But then, Salthill-Knocknacarra took charge. Inspired by the nerveless finishing of county star Seán Armstrong (pictured above), they hit five points without reply. Seamie Crowe got the first of the five, and then Armstrong sent over a gem.

Further points from Armstrong (2) and Crowe then sealed the deal.


Tir Chonaill Gaels 1-15 Kingdom Kerry Gaels 1-8

Tir Chonaill Gaels won their 14th London title with seven points to spare against Kingdom Kerry Gaels at Ruislip on Sunday.

They hit five early points and then when forward Kevin McMenamin found the net for them on 17 minutes, they were in total control. Tir Chonaill led 1-6 to 0-2 at the break.

The dismissal of Kevin Waldron for KK Gaels made their task much harder in the second half, but they did make a good effort at the comeback towards the end, but by then it was much too late and Tir Chonaill Gaels cruised to victory.


Emmet Óg Killoe 0-7 Longford Slashers 0-7

Emmet Óg Killoe and Longford Slashers will meet again after their played out a 0-7 apiece draw in the Longford showpiece.

Slashers were leading in the closing stages and looked to be heading for a third title in a row until Seán McCormack knocked over an equalising free at the end. McCormack was outstanding throughout and finished with 0-6.

Slashers led 0-5 to 0-4 at the end of the first half, but Emmet Óg did just enough in a low quality second half to secure the replay.


Ballybay 1-12 Clontibret 2-5

Ballybay ended a 25-year wait for success in Monaghan with an emotional victory over Clontibret in Clones on Sunday.

With Paul Finlay and Christopher McGuinness on form in a potent Ballybay attack, they were good value for their four point win.

Ballybay struck for goal in the 19th minute, Colin Malone finishing sweetly to the net. They led 1-5 to 0-3 at half-time, and hit five points without reply after the restart to power 10 clear.

Clontibret managed two goals before the end to significantly close the gap, but Ballybay never really looked like losing their grip on the title, their eighth overall.


Rhode 0-15 Clare 1-6

Rhode won their 25th Offaly title, and their third in the last five years, with a six-point win over Clara.

County star Niall McNamee hit 0-8 for them, three from play, but they trailed at the break, 1-5 to 0-6.

Clara were helped into that lead by the scoring exploits of Thomas Deehan, who hit 1-4 in the first half. Rhode were a different side after the break though, and outscored their opponents by 0-9 to 0-1.

They kicked five without reply after the restart to lead 0-11 to 1-6, and from there they simply picked away at Clara, adding four more before the end.


St. Brigid's 2-8 Pádraig Pearses 0-9

St. Brigid's continued their dominance of Roscommon with a five point victory in the county final against Padraig Pearses.

Frankie Dolan was the star of the showing, weighing in with 2-4 to sink the opposition and guide St. Brigid's to a second three-in-a-row since winning the first of their last six titles back in 2005.

Dolan's first goal put St. Brigid's five ahead, and he then struck another goal deep into injury time to seal victory. All but one of his scores came from play in a stellar showing.

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow