Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which province will produce the 2016 AIB GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Club Champions?

Daily News

Tipp claim six 2010 GAA Hurling All Stars

Friday, October 15, 2010

2010 Hurling All Stars

All Ireland hurling champions Tipperary tonight crowned a magnificent season as six of their team were selected as the 2010 GAA All Stars, sponsored by Vodafone, were announced at City West Hotel, Dublin.

The gala banquet also saw Tipp's All-Ireland final hat-trick hero Lar Corbett, whose championship season tally was an outstanding 6-11 from play, selected as a very popular recipient of the Player of the Year Award, with his team-mate Brendan Maher making it a clean-sweep in the individual awards for Tipperary as he was chosen Young Player of the Year. Maher was also shortlisted for Player of the Year along with Corbett and Kilkenny's Michael Fennelly.

The banquet also saw the GAA Football Player of the Year Award go to outstanding Dublin forward Bernard Brogan after a magnificent season in which he scored 3-42 as the Dubs rebounded superbly from their early championship defeat to Meath before being pipped by Cork at semi-final stage. The Young Player of Year award went to Cork midfielder and September GAA Player of the Month Aidan Walsh. The 2010 GAA Football All Stars were announced on Wednesday.

The announcement of the Hurling All Stars, however, was very much dominated by Tipperary, who took two more than last year when they were beaten finalists and the same amount as the 2009 champions Kilkenny. Captain Eoin Kelly received his sixth award, equalling the existing Tipperary All Star record held by Nicky English, who won the last of his six awards in 1989. Other Tipperary All Ireland winners selected on the 2010 All Stars were goalkeeper Brendan Cummins, who received his fifth award, first-time winners full-back Paul Curran and midfielder Brendan Maher and forwards Lar Corbett and Noel McGrath, both of whom were picking up their second awards.

There was some consolation for Kilkenny fans, not least as Tommy Walsh collected a record equalling eighth All Star award in-a-row - his fellow countyman Henry Shefflin is the only other All Star to receive eight awards in succession. Walsh is joined on the 2010 team by fellow county-men Jackie Tyrrell, JJ Delaney, Michael Fennelly and Richie Power.

Waterford were rewarded for their strong season, which saw them claim provincial honours before being defeated by eventual champions Tipperary in the All-Ireland semi-final, as corner-back Noel Connors, centre-back Michael 'Brick' Walsh and corner-forward John Mullane were all selected. Wing forward Damien Hayes is sole representative from Galway, who ran Tipperary very close in their All-Ireland quarter-final.

Only four counties - Tipperary, Kilkenny, Waterford and Galway - are represented on the 2010 All Stars - one less than last year when Dublin were also on the winners' list - compared to eight counties represented on the 2010 Football All Stars.

Of the fifteen selected, five are first-time recipients - Tipperary's Paul Curran and Brendan Maher, Kilkenny's Michael Fennelly and Richie Power plus Waterford's Noel Connors.

2010 GAA Hurling All Stars, sponsored by Vodafone:

(Previous All Stars won by players in brackets)

1. Brendan Cummins, Tipperary (Four - '00, '01, '03, '08)

2. Noel Connors, Waterford

3. Paul Curran, Tipperary

4. Jackie Tyrell, Kilkenny (Three - '07, '08, '09)

5. Tommy Walsh, Kilkenny (Seven - '03, '04, '05, '06, '07, '08, '09)

6. Michael Walsh, Waterford (Two - '07, '09)

7. JJ Delaney, Kilkenny (four - '03, '04, '06, '08)

8. Brendan Maher, Tipperary

9. Michael Fennelly, Kilkenny

10. Damien Hayes, Galway (One - '05)

11. Noel McGrath, Tipperary (One - '09)

12. Lar Corbett, Tipperary (One - '09)

13. John Mullane, Waterford (Two - '03, '09)

14. Richie Power, Kilkenny

15. Eoin Kelly, Tipperary (Five - '01, '02, '04, '05, '06)

2010 Hurling Player of the Year Lar Corbett

2010 Hurling Young Player of the Year Brendan Maher

2010 Football Player of the Year Bernard Brogan

2010 Football Young Player of the Year Aidan Walsh

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow