Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
View all Fixtures & Results >

Which of these forwards are you most looking forward to see playing for Ireland in the EirGrid International Rules Series on November 21?

Daily News

Ard Chomhairle Update October 12

Saturday, October 12, 2013

No decision on the future structure of the Allianz Hurling Leagues was reached at today's Ard Chomhairle meeting.

Instead an alternative proposal, put forward by Michael Burns a member of the National Fixtures Planning Committee (see attached), was presented to the meeting and it was decided to afford counties an opportunity to discuss this document before Ard Chomhairle reconvenes to discuss the matter.

Ard Chomhairle did agree to stage any future All-Ireland final replays on Saturdays following the success of the recent hurling final replay.

Alternative Hurling League proposal

Step 1

List the top twelve hurling counties as follows, grading the top four as “A” teams, the next 4 as “B” teams, and the bottom 4 as “C” teams. (Based on previous year’s league results and subsequent promotion/ relegation)



1 Tipperary A
2 Kilkenny A
3 Galway A
4 Waterford A
5 Clare B
6 Cork B
7 Limerick B
8 Dublin B
9 Offaly C
10 Wexford C
11 Antrim C
12 Laois C

Step 2

Put teams in 2 equal sections ( two As, two Bs and two Cs in each section). These would be drawn.


National Hurling League Proposal
Section I

A - Tipperary, Waterford

B - Clare, Dublin

C - Offaly, Laois

Section II

A - Kilkenny, Galway

B - Cork, Limerick

C - Wexford, Antrim

Step 3

a. Each County plays each county in its own section once. (5 games)
b. Each County plays the two teams of the same grade in the opposite section (2 games)
c. Top two teams in each section enter semi finals
d. Bottom teams in each section play-off for relegation

Team Schedule (example)
A team: Tipperary will play
Waterford (home), Clare (Home), Dublin (Away), Offaly (Home), Laois (Away) (5 games)
Plus Kilkenny (Home) and Galway (Away). (2 games) (Inter-Section games)

B team: Clare will play
Tipperary (Away) Waterford (Home), Dublin (Home), Laois (home) Offaly (Away), (5 games)
Plus Cork (Home) and Limerick (Away). (2 games)

C team: Laois will play
Tipperary (Home) Waterford (Away), Clare (Away), Dublin (Home), Offaly (Away), (5 games)
Plus Wexford (Home) and Antrim (Away). (2 games)
(This gives a slight advantage to ‘C’ teams but that would be a positive)

1. Each county gets 7 games with at least 3 home games

2. Each county plays at least 2 “A” counties each year

3.  All “A” counties will play each other

4. All 10 “strong” hurling counties involved

5. Semi Final and Relegation structure simple

2015 grading will be decided by finishing position in 2014.

  • eircom, AIB, SuperValu
  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow