Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
  • Sat 23 Aug 2014
  • 2:00pmBord Gais Energy
    GAA Hurling All Ireland U21 B Championship 2014
    Kildare vs. Tyrone Inniskeen
  • 2:00pmBord Gais Energy
    GAA Hurling All Ireland U21 B Championship 2014
    Kerry vs. Roscommon Cusack Park, Ennis
  • 4:00pmBord Gais Energy
    GAA Hurling All Ireland U21 Championship 2014
    Clare vs. Antrim Semple Stadium, Thurles
  • 6:00pmBord Gais Energy
    GAA Hurling All Ireland U21 Championship 2014
    Galway vs. Wexford Semple Stadium, Thurles
  • Sun 24 Aug 2014
  • 3:30pmGAA Football All
    Ireland Senior Championship 2014
    Mayo vs. Kerry Páirc an Chrócaigh
View all Fixtures & Results >

How will Sunday's GAA Football All-Ireland Championship Semi-Final finish?

Daily News

Mayo-Dublin game abandoned

Saturday, February 11, 2012

The Allianz Football League Division I contest between Mayo and Dublin was abandoned at half-time due to heavy fog that descended on McHale Park in Castlebar.

At the break Dublin held a three point advantage on a score-line of 0-8 to 0-5 despite having wing-back James McCarthy sent off but conditions deteriorated quickly while the teams were in the changing rooms. 

Mayo began brightly with frees from Cillian O’Connor and Conor Mortimer but they found themselves trailing by five in the 17th minute as the visitors hit seven unanswered scores. Diarmuid Connolly was at the heart of everything good about Dublin and he contributed three excellent points from play, while Kevin McManamon was also a bundle of energy in the half-forward line.

Enda Varley stopped the rot for Mayo when he dissected the posts after latching onto a rebound that came off the upright but Stephen Cluxton swiftly replied with a free. Dublin wing-back James McCarthy was then sent off and with the help of the extra man Mayo began to exert themselves.

Varley pointed via the crossbar and Mortimer then added his second free of the evening to leave Mayo trailing by three points at half-time. However, the fog quickly descended onto McHale Park during the interval forcing the game to be abandoned in the interest of health and safety.

Mayo: David Clarke, Kevin Keane, Eoghan Reilly, Keith Higgins, Peadar Gardiner, Donal Vaughan, Lee Keegan, Barry Moran, Aidan O'Shea, Kevin McLoughlin, Cillian O'Connor (0-1f) , Alan Dillon, Conor Mortimer (0-2f), Alan Freeman, Enda Varley (0-2)

Dublin: Stephen Cluxton (0-1f), Darren Daly, Rory O’Carroll, Philip McMahon, James McCarthy, Ger Brennan, Craig Dias, Ross McConnell, Michael Dara McAuley, Paul Brogan (0-1), Kevin McManamon (0-1), Bryan Cullen, Diarmuid Connolly (0-3), Eoghan O’Gara, Tomas Quinn (0-2f)

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • eircom, SuperValu, Ulster Bank

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow