Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
  • Sun 21 Sep 2014
  • 3:30pmGAA Football All
    Ireland Senior Championship 2014
    Kerry vs. Donegal Páirc an Chrócaigh
View all Fixtures & Results >

Who will the next All-Ireland Champions be after Sunday's Football Final?

Daily News

Vaughan to captain Clare in 2011

Tuesday, January 04, 2011

Pat Vaughan has been named as the new Clare Senior hurling captain for the 2011 season.

Crusheen clubman Vaughan, who starred in his side's historic first-ever Clare Senior Hurling Championship success last October, takes over from Brian O’Connell and is expected to skipper the Banner for the first time in a challenge game against Wexford next weekend.

John Conlon, last year’s U21 captain, has been named as vice-captain.

Vaughan will lead his county for the first time in competitive action in the Waterford Crystal Cup against IT Tralee on January 14.

Meanwhile, Clare boss Ger O’Loughlin will be without up to 14 players – who are on duty with their colleges – for the season-opening competition, while a number of senior squad members are also unavailable.

Jonathon Clancy and 2010 skipper O’Connell are both out of the country, while Alan Markham and Michael Scanlon are among the players in last year’s squad who will not be involved this year.

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • eircom, SuperValu, Ulster Bank

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow