Fáilte chuig gaa.ie - suíomh oifigiúil CLG

Allianz Football League Roinn 1

Dublin 2-17 2-10 Kildare

Round 1
Páirc an Chrócaigh
Conor Lane
Allianz FL D1: Dublin overpower Kildare
Dublin v Kildare - Allianz Football League Division 1 Round 1

Allianz FL D1: Dublin overpower Kildare

Allianz Football League Division 1


By Paul Keane at Croke Park

Second-half goals from Dean Rock and Man of the Match Brian Fenton eased All-Ireland champions Dublin to a comfortable opening round win in the Allianz football league.

Jim Gavin's side, the majority of whom were absent for the Bord na Móna O'Byrne Cup competition, trailed by two points at half-time.

But they were much improved after the restart and reeled off 2-5 without reply to turn the game in their favour and leave Kildare trailing by nine.

The goals arrived within seconds of each other in the 45th and 46th minutes and were both laid on by Bernard Brogan who weighed in with a point himself.

Kildare failed to score from play in the second-half until Daniel Flynn's 73rd minute goal which came as consolation at that stage.

Cian O'Neill's side, promotion from Division 2 last year, will hope for an improvement against Monaghan next weekend while Dublin will travel to Tyrone in positive mood.

Former U-21 stars Brian Howard and Colm Basquel also took their chances to impress with 0-5 between the pair.

Opponents Kildare sought a rare win at GAA Headquarters having lost all three games they played there last year including a Leinster final against Dublin.

They couldn't have asked for a much better start as they roared four points clear after 10 minutes.

Neil Flynn, who limped off with an apparent injury after four minutes, opened the scoring seconds into the contest.

And with Dublin yet to score, Kildare added a goal in the 10th minute from debutant Luke Flynn to open up a 1-1 to 0-0 lead.

Paul Cribbin gathered up a loose ball on the right wing and sent it all the way in to the back post at the Hill 16 End for Flynn to seize on and fire home.

Dublin's response was emphatic as they reeled off five points in a row through Rock, 2, Niall Scully, Ciaran Kilkenny and Brogan to lead for the first time.

Gavin's side looked to be finding their groove but only added two more points in the half, through Kilkenny and Fenton.

Kildare, in turn, upped the ante and got back to level terms on three occasions before moving 1-6 to 0-7 clear at half-time with points from Daniel Flynn and goalkeeper Mark Donnellan.

It was all downhill from there for Kildare who were powerless to prevent Dublin swamping them in the third quarter of the game and reeling off that 2-5.

Fenton got the scoring siege going with back to back points before Rock and Fenton again hit the net to leave Kildare reeling.

Basquel, Scully, John Small and Howard all added points in the run in as Gavin ran in his full allocation of substitutes including a first piece of action for Cillian O'Shea.

*Scorers for Dublin:  *Brian Fenton 1-3, Dean Rock 1-2 (0-2f), Colm Basquel 0-3, Ciaran Kilkenny 0-2, Niall Scully 0-2, Brian Howard 0-2, Bernard Brogan 0-1, John Small 0-1, Kevin McManamon 0-1.

*Scorers for Kildare: *Daniel Flynn 1-2, Luke Flynn 1-0, Eamonn Callaghan 0-3 (0-3f), Kevin Feely 0-2 (0-2f), Mark Donnellan 0-1 (0-1f), Neil Flynn 0-1, Paul Cribbin 0-1.

*DUBLIN: *Stephen Cluxton; Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne, Darren Daly; James McCarthy, Jonny Cooper, John Small; Brian Fenton, Michael Darragh Macauley; Niall Scully, Ciaran Kilkenny, Brian Howard; Dean Rock, Colm Basquel, Bernard Brogan. *Subs: *Kevin McManamon for Macauley (47), Eric Lowndes for Cooper (50), Paul Mannion for Rock (54), Philly McMahon for Fitzsimons (55), Cillian O'Shea for Daly (59), Paddy Andrews for Brogan (60).

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; David Hyland, Peter Kelly, Mick O'Grady; Johnny Byrne, Eoin Doyle, Cian O'Donoghue; Kevin Feely, Luke Flynn; Fergal Conway, Chris Healy, Paul Cribbin; Neil Flynn, Daniel Flynn, Cathal McNally. Subs: David Slattery for Neil Flynn (4), Niall Kelly for Healy (20, black card), Tommy Moolick for Conway (50), Ben McCormack for Luke Flynn (56), Mark Hyland for P Kelly (61), Eamonn Callaghan for Feely (61).

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork).

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Championship

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Championship