Keyword Search

  • Gaa Facebook
  • Gaa Twitter
  • Gaa Youtube
  • Sun 21 Sep 2014
  • 3:30pmGAA Football All
    Ireland Senior Championship 2014
    Kerry vs. Donegal Páirc an Chrócaigh
View all Fixtures & Results >

What will the outcome be in Sunday's GAA Football All-Ireland Championship Final?


Press Release: International Rules

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

The GAA and AFL have confirmed modifications to the Laws of International Rules Football ahead of Ireland's visit to Perth where they will play a single test Series against the host country on November 22nd 2014.

A summary of the changes is as follows:

• Goalkeepers must now kick the ball out beyond the 45m line after all wides, behinds and overs, which will help bring the taller players (and contested marks) into play. Failure of a goalkeeper to kick over the 45m line will result in a free kick to the opposition (from the 45m line).

• The number of consecutive handpasses allowed has been raised from 4 to 6

• Interchanges have been increased to 15 per quarter (60 for match) with an unlimited number allowed at the quarter, half and three quarter time intervals.

• Marks have been eliminated for kicks backwards – play on will be called in such circumstances

A full version of the Laws of International Rules Football can be found here.

The modifications are designed to allow for a broader range of AFL players to participate in the game. The AFL recently confirmed that the Australian team for the 2014 Series will be compiled entirely of players who have All Australian experience. Major AFL stars such as Patrick Dangerfield, Luke Hodge, Scott Pendlebury and Joel Selwood already committed to the 2014 game.

Tickets for the game went on sale in Australia last week - further information at

Official Sponsors of the GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • eircom, SuperValu, Ulster Bank

Official Sponsors of the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship

  • Etihad Airways, Centra, Libertyinsurance

web design by digital agency ebow